New Photo Nanney_Lillian 4-21-15_0_0_0.jpg
Lillian Nanney, Ph.D., Director

The Academy for Excellence in Teaching was established in November of 2006. Our Founding membership was comprised of 44 Distinguished Medical Educators. The collective currently consists of 102 faculty. The Academy provides a forum to foster higher levels of participation and promote excellence and scholarship in the delivery of education to health professionals.

The Academy is a collective of outstanding faculty educators in the School of Medicine who are highly engaged in the educational mission. Each strives to have a significant impact on educational endeavors in diverse settings with a variety of learners.



  • Winter Quarterly Commons Meeting
    Thursday, January 7, 2016
    Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Theater, 5:30 - 7:30 pm
  • Vanderbilt School of Medicine’s Annual John Chapman, M.D., Distinguished Flexner Lectureship:
    Monday, April 18, 2016 - 12:00 noon
    Leslie Fall, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics, Associate Dean of Faculty Development, Geisel School of Medicine
  •  The Academy for Excellence in Teaching Recognition Dinner was held  April 18, 2016 and welcomed 5 new members.



The Academy for Excellence in Teaching Recognition Dinner was held April 13, 2015 and welcomed 10 new members.

Congratulations to the Sept. 22, 2014 Health Professions Education Research Day 1st Place Poster Winners!

Jennifer Green, MD, MPH, Bill Cutrer, MD, M.Ed, Mike Fowler, MD, Cathy Pettepher, PhD, Kim Lomis, MD