Karpay Award - 2017

The Karpay Award Committee is now soliciting applications for the 2018 Karpay Award. This award was established in 2010 to commemorate Dr. Anne Karpay, whose studies were focused on membrane protein structural biology under the guidance of Professors Chuck Sanders and Tina Iverson. Dr. Karpay’s career ended prematurely following a 4-year battle with breast cancer, which claimed her in 2008. Learn more about Dr. Anne Karpay and this award.

Instructions for the application process are detailed in the attachment, but in brief should consist of the following documents:

1)    A cover page, completed by the applicant
2)    A 2 page description of current research
3)    A 1 page description of future goals
4)    A current curriculum vitae
5)    A letter from the PhD advisor that emphasizes activities that identifies strengths of the students, from perspectives of scientific achievements and their relationship to the Molecular Biophysics community

Past winners of the Karpay Award include:

·   Yoana Dimitrova (2011, Chazin lab)
·   Chris Brosey (2012, Chazin lab)
·   Paul Barrett (2013, Sanders lab)
·   Nicole Chumbler (2014, Lacy lab)
·   Kathleen Mittendorf (2015, Sanders lab)
·   Qiuyan Chen (2016, Iverson, Gurevich labs)
·   Norie Sugitani (2017, Chazin lab)

The awardee will be chosen based on his/her scientific accomplishments in the area of structural biology, and the nature of his/her future aspirations. It is equally important that the awardee is a well-rounded colleague, who is collegial and collaborative, traits that defined Dr. Anne Karpay. A $1,500 honorarium accompanies the award, which is contingent upon the winner giving the first MBTP seminar in January when the award will be presented.

Applications will be accepted until 5 PM, November 7, 2017. Decisions on the awardee will be made prior to November 30, and the award itself will be presented on January 16, 2018. The 2018 Karpay application instructions are attached.

We wish all the applicants the best of luck in competing for this Award, which has become an important tradition of the Vanderbilt Structural Biology community.

Please send complete application materials to Karen D. Davis.