Emeson and Patel are Brain Institute faculty honorees at Fall Faculty Assembly

August 31, 2015


Thomas Jefferson Award

Ron Emeson, the Joel G. Hardeman Professor of Pharmacology, professor of molecular physiology and biophysics and psychiatry, won the Thomas Jefferson Award for distinguished service to Vanderbilt through extraordinary contributions as a member of the faculty in the councils and governance of the university.

“Ron serves as a visionary leader in the Vanderbilt Brain Institute and has given selflessly to two key institutional leadership roles in animal research,” Zeppos said.

Emeson has served as chair of the Vanderbilt Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee and director of the Office of Animal Welfare Assurance.

Emeson also has been very active with the Faculty Senate, serving as vice chair and on the Academic Programs and Services Committee, the Faculty Life Committee, the Interdisciplinary Task Force, the Faculty Advisory Council, the Interdisciplinary Graduate Program Executive Committee and the Consultative Committee.

The Thomas Jefferson Award comes with an engraved pewter goblet and $2,500.

Chancellor’s Awards for Research

Five members of the faculty won Chancellor’s Awards for Research, each earning $1,000 and an engraved pewter julep cup. The awards recognize works of research, scholarship or creative expression presented or published in the preceding three calendar years.

Sachin Patel, associate professor of psychiatry and molecular physiology and biophysics, for three articles published in Cell Reports, Neuron and Nature Neuroscience and for his body of work elucidating the role of the brain’s endogenous cannabinoid system in anxiety disorders and depression.