Skip to main content

CITRL Network: Spring Online Event Series on Teaching at Community Colleges

Posted by on Wednesday, January 22, 2020 in Announcements.

Have you ever thought about teaching at a community college? This spring we’re hosting an online event series about what it’s like to teach at these institutions, how to navigate their hiring practices, and what issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion look like on community college campuses. We hope you’ll join us for one or more of these events!

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


Introduction to Teaching at a Community College
Thursday 1/30: 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT
Have you ever considered a teaching career at a community college? This career can have a high impact on students beginning their higher education journey and often includes a strong community-focused work environment. Join us to hear a panel of faculty discuss their own experiences working in community colleges.

Getting Hired at a Community College
Thursday 2/27: 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT
How might the interview differ from that of a 4-year teaching or research university? What factors should you consider in preparing your application materials and teaching demonstration? What are some common do’s and don’ts of seeking a job at a community college? Join us to learn hiring tips from faculty that serve on or work closely with hiring committees at community colleges.

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusive Teaching in the Community College Setting
Thursday 3/19: 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT
Community colleges are truly diverse settings, attracting individuals from all different walks of life with a common interest in advancing their education. Attend this panel to hear faculty and administrators from various community colleges share insights on student diversity. We will also explore the types of inclusive teaching strategies that best support community college students and help to create more equitable classrooms.

Tags: ,