CIRTL announces Cross-Network e-courses, including developing a teaching portfolio

Kate Stuart
November 28, 2016
Posted in Announcements

CIRTL's spring 2017 cross-Network courses open for registration next week, so we've got a sneak peek to share with you for now. Our courses give you the opportunity to add to the classes and communities at your home university by joining an interactive, cross-country online learning environment focused on evidence-based STEM teaching.

Our courses will open for registration on our website next Monday, December 5. All our courses have enrollment caps, so registration does not guarantee admittance. We'll process registration based on a few factors, including first-come, first-serve, whether you're from a CIRTL institution, and whether you're in a STEM/SBE discipline. You'll need an account on our website to register, and we'll refer to the institution and discipline listed in your profile to help determine your registration priority.

 

Spring 2017 cross-Network Courses

Developing a Teaching Portfolio

On Tuesday, January 31 and March 21 at 3-5PM ET/2-4PM CT/1-3PM MT/12-2PM PT

Portfolios don't just help you in the job search, they can help refine and advance your teaching in the classroom, too. In this class students will explore model teaching portfolios, write a personal philosophy of teaching, assemble evidence of their teaching, develop and present their own teaching portfolios, and use peer review rubrics to evaluate their own and peers' portfolios. Prior teaching experience is helpful, but not required. The majority of this course takes place asynchronously, outside of the two sessions on January 31 and March 21. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 20 students.

Diversity in the College Classroom

On Wednesdays from February 1 to March 29. Weekly online meetings at 12-1:30PM ET/11AM-12:30PM CT/10-11:30AM MT/9-10:30AM PT

The course is designed for STEM educators interested in considering diversity issues in college-level teaching. We will explore definitions of diversity, consider ways that instructor and student diversity and implicit biases can influence how we teach and learn, and work together to develop effective techniques and strategies for teaching inclusively. Students will create their own inclusive teaching plan and present it to the class at the end of the semester. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 32 students.

Teaching-as-Research

On Thursdays from February 2 to April 6. Weekly online meetings at 1-2:30PM ET/12-1:30PM CT/11AM-12:30PM MT/10-11:30AM PT

Want to develop a Teaching-as-Research (TAR) project and be ready to implement in summer or fall? This course is designed to cover basic concepts, techniques, and procedures of conducting TAR in the undergraduate classroom. Students will develop a full TAR proposal and will be poised to conduct their research in the summer or fall of 2017. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 30 students.

Research Mentor Training

On Thursdays from February 2 to April 20. Weekly online meetings at 3-4:15PM ET/2-3:15PM CT/1-2:15PM MT/12-1:15PM PT

In this seminar-style class, participants will work with a community of peers to develop and improve their mentoring skills. By the end of the seminar, participants should be able to clearly articulate a personal mentoring philosophy to anyone inside or outside their discipline, and describe multiple strategies for dealing with mentoring challenges. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 25 students.

Service-Learning in STEM Classrooms: Introduction to Pedagogy and Practice 

On Tuesdays from February 7 to March 28. Weekly online meetings at 2-4PM ET/1-3PM CT/12-2PM MT/11AM-1PM PT

Service-learning is a high-impact pedagogy that engages students in applying what they are learning about in their class to a real-world community need or issue, and includes reflective activities to demonstrate and deepen the service and learning connections. This course will introduce best practices, research, and examples of the pedagogy, with a special focus on STEM disciplines. Not available for credit. Open to 20 students.

The College Classroom

Exact schedule TBD. This course will take place between late January and late April.

Students will learn the basics of effective teaching as well as ideas at the forefront of college education, including digital approaches to teaching and learning. Students will explore their teaching philosophy, design a course curriculum, learn how to monitor and investigate the effectiveness of the learning environment, and learn what it means to create an inclusive classroom environment that engages all learners.  Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 30 students.

Basics of Online Learning and Teaching

Exact schedule TBD. This course will take place between late January and late April.

This course is designed to help graduate students and postdocs new to teaching online learn how to design and run an effective course. Through a mix of synchronous, online sessions that students must attend and asynchronous modules they'll work on each week, students will develop their own materials for a sample online course. At the end of the semester, students will present those materials to the class. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 30 students.