CIRTL in the Summer! 2016 offerings open April 11.

Kate Stuart
April 5, 2016
Posted in Announcements

This summer CIRTL is offering a range of courses, a workshop, and several in-person teaching institutes at our member institutions.Registration opens next Monday, April 11 and closes Monday, May 9, and is required for all our summer activities. Keep reading for more details!


Cross-Network Courses

Advancing Learning through Evidence-Based STEM Teaching
This 8-week MOOC begins Wednesday, June 1 

Learn about evidence-based instruction through our Massive Open Online Course (MOOC), taught by faculty from across the CIRTL Network. Unlike the rest of our online classes, the MOOC is entirely asynchronous, meaning students can work independently throughout the 8-week course. 

Disabling Difference in the STEM Classroom: The Disability & Universal Course Design You Need to Know for Inclusion
On Wednesdays starting June 15. Weekly online meetings at 2:15-3:30PM ET/1:15-2:30PM CT/12:15-1:30PM MT/11:15AM-12:30PM PT

Develop teaching practices to support all learners - including those with disabilities - in this class taught by instructors from the University of Rochester. Students will study effective pedagogies and disability regulations to learn the basics of accessible course design. The class will meet weekly for 6 weeks; all participants are required to attend these live, online sessions.

Integrating Creativity, Innovation, and Design Thinking in STEM Courses
On Wednesdays starting July 6. Weekly online meetings at 1-2:30PM ET/12-1:30PM CT/11AM-12:30PM MT/10-11:30AM PT

Learn how you can incorporate hands-on creativity into your STEM classroom in this course, taught by instructors from the University of Pittsburgh. This class will meet weekly for 4 weeks, and all participants are required to attend these live, online sessions.

Basics of Online Learning and Teaching
Online meeting times and dates are TBD

Learn the basics of online pedagogy and develop your own online teaching materials in this class, taught by instructors from the University of Georgia and the University of Texas at Arlington. This class will blend live, online sessions (which participants are required to attend) with independent work over the course of 11 weeks. Additional details TBD.


Cross-Network Workshops

Writing an Academic Resume
Wednesday, June 14 at 11AM-1PM ET/10AM-12PM CT/9-11AM MT/8-10AM PT

Learn how to craft an academic CV that emphasizes your strengths while speaking to NIH and NSF priorities in this workshop led by instructors from the University of Texas at Arlington. In addition to attending the live, online workshop on June 14, participants will be required to do some preparatory work beforehand, and some wrap-up work after.


In-Person Teaching Institutes

Evidence-Based Teaching Institute (Vanderbilt University, May 2016)
In Nashville, TN on Thursday, May 19 and Friday, May 20

Learn the basics of evidence-based teaching in this day-and-a-half institute at Vanderbilt University. Participants will cover a range of topics related to teaching-as-research, including how people learn, challenge-based learning, course design, assessment, classroom management, classroom technology, and scholarly resources.

Summer Teaching Institute (Johns Hopkins University)
In Baltimore, MD from Tuesday, May 24 through Thursday, May 26

This three-day intensive institute, hosted at Johns Hopkins University, addresses common themes and challenges in teaching and education at the post-secondary level. Through faculty presentations and group work, participants will learn about innovations and research in undergraduate education.

STRIPE Teaching Institute (University of Colorado Boulder)
In Boulder, CO from Monday, June 13 through Friday, June 17

Take part in this week-long teaching institute at the University of Colorado Boulder, specially designed for STEM postdocs. Participants will learn to apply engineering principles of design, build, test and iterate to their curriculum development, drawing from relevant literature and techniques.

Evidence-Based Teaching Institute (Vanderbilt University, August 2016)
In Nashville, TN on Thursday, August 18 and Friday, August 19

Learn the basics of evidence-based teaching in this day-and-a-half institute at Vanderbilt University. Participants will cover a range of topics related to teaching-as-research, including how people learn, challenge-based learning, course design, assessment, classroom management, classroom technology, and scholarly resources.