CIRTL's Online Offerings

Kate Stuart
March 6, 2014
Posted in Announcements

Check out the many learning opportunities offered for postdocs through the Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning (CIRTL) Network.

Coffee Hour Series: Career Development for Postdocs
March 10, 2014, 5:00ET/4:00CT/3:00MT/2:00PT 
Mentoring and Being Mentored

This session will take a look at the reasons you might want to intentionally pursue a mentoring relationship, and how that relationship can benefit you and your career, whether you are the mentor or the one being mentored. 


Presenters: 
Keivan Stassun, Professor of Physics & Astronomy, Vanderbilt University (moderator)
Dina Stroud, Research Assistant Professor of Physics & Medicine, Vanderbilt University
Rudy Montez, Postdoctoral Scholar, Physics & Astronomy Department, Vanderbilt University
Hak-Joon Sung, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Cardiovascular Medicine, Vanderbilt University
Carl Johnson, Professor of Biological Sciences, Molecular Physiology, & Biophysics, Vanderbilt University

 

Coffee Hour Series: Work-Life Balance


March 13, 2014, 1:00ET/12:00CT/11:00MT/10:00PT
Work-Life Balance That Works
This second session will include a panel of faculty and staff discussing their challenges, issues, and most of all, their strategies for achieving a work-life balance that works for them. Participants will hear how the panelists attempt to develop schedules to juggle family responsibilities and activities, teaching, research, service obligations and opportunities, and how to sustain these over time. 


Presenters:

Rique Campa
, Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Associate Dean, Michigan State University

Wendi Heinzelman, Professor, University of Rochester

Matt Helm, Student Wellness Coordinator, Michigan State University

Teaching-As-Research Capstone Series
March 17, 2014, 3:00ET/2:00CT/1:00MT/12:00PT

Working Session: Qualitative and Quantitative Data Management and Analysis

Not sure what to do with your qualitative data, or just want to make sure you're on the right track? Not sure what quantitative analysis is possible or necessary given your data and hypothesis? Want some guidance on how to manage your large data set? Join this working session for personalized answers to all of your research questions!


Presenter:
Mark Urban-Lurain,
Associate Professor, Center for Engineering Education Research, Michigan State University

Combined CIRTLCast Series/Coffee Hour: Inclusive Design for Learning


March 18, 2014, pre-recorded CIRTLCast posted by 1:00CT
Introduction to Inclusive Design for Learning
Discussion of inclusive design, its relation to and difference from universal design, and its framework and principles.



March 21, 2014, 2:00ET/1:00CT/12:00MT/11:00PT

Introduction to Inclusive Design for Learning Coffee Hour

Live Coffee Hour follow-up discussion on the pre-recorded inclusive design CIRTLCast. 


Presenters: Gina Ceylan, Graduate Student, University of Missouri-Columbia
Angela Speck, Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Missouri-Columbia

Coffee Hour Series: Work-Life Balance


March 24, 2014, 1:00ET/12:00CT/11:00MT/10:00PT 
The CIRTL Challenge: Accomplishments, Lessons Learned, Plans for the Future

This last session will engage participants (graduate students, post-docs, and faculty) to report on out a) components of what they have implemented over the previous weeks to help manage stress and maintain productivity and a healthy lifestyle, and b) challenges they faced in meeting the CIRTL Wellness Challenge. Participants will be encouraged to post their CIRTL Wellness Challenge Interventions prior to this session. Those who post will be entered in a drawing to receive a $20 Amazon gift card. 


Presenters:
Rique Campa, Associate Dean & Professor, Michigan State University
Matt Helm, Student Wellness Coordinator, Michigan State University

CIRTLCast Series: Teaching in the Large Undergraduate STEM Classroom
March 26, 2014, 2:00 ET/1:00CT/12:00MT/11:00PT 
The Twitter Revolution: Engaging Students in 100+ Classes
Think about Twitter as a learning tool, not just a distraction in the classroom. This session will discuss ways to use this form of social media to engage students, promote and assess learning, and build community among the students. 


Presenter: 
Chase Hagood, Coordinator of Faculty Development, University of Georgia

Coffee Hour Series: Leveraging Diversity


March 27, 2014, 1:00ET/12:00CT/11:00MT/10:00PT
Capitalizing on First Generation College Students' Experiences: Lessons Learned and Recommendations for University Professors
Increasing the number of minority and first generation college students in higher education is a top educational priority. Join the discussants as they share their experiences working with these students in a variety of educational settings, including high schools, community colleges and traditional four year universities. In this Coffee Hour we will also share the lessons we have learned from implementing projects aimed at developing a college-going culture among  prospective first generation college students as well as recommendations for capitalizing on these students' experiences in and out of the college/university classroom. 
Presenters:
Carla Amaro-Jiménez, Assistant Professor of Curriculum & Instruction, University of Texas at Arlington

Barbara Tobolowsky, Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, University of Texas at Arlington

Taryn Ozuna, Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, University of Texas at Arlington
Jennifer Novoselsky 

 For further information and to log in to the sessions, please visit http://www.cirtl.net/events