CIRTL's spring courses include research mentor training, academic search help and more

Kate Stuart
December 20, 2016
Posted in Announcements

The CIRTL Network is providing several online courses this spring. Check them out!

Teaching-as-Research

On Mondays from January 30 to April 3. Weekly online meetings at 11AM-12:30PM ET/10-11:30AM CT/9-11:30AM MT/8-9:30AM PT

This course will help students develop a full Teaching-as-Research proposal and will be poised to conduct their research in the summer or fall of 2017. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 30 students.

Developing a Teaching Portfolio (Almost full)

On Tuesdays with online meetings January 31 and March 21 at 3-5PM ET/2-4PM CT/1-3PM MT/12-2PM PT

Students will examine model teaching portfolios and develop their own portfolios, refined through peer review. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 20 students.

The College Classroom

On Tuesdays from January 31 to April 18. Weekly online meetings at 11AM-12:20PM ET/10-11:20AMCT/9-10:20AM MT/8-9:20AM PT

Students will explore their teaching philosophy, design a curriculum, learn how to monitor and investigate a learning environment's effectiveness, and learn what it means to create an inclusive classroom.  Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 40 students.

Diversity in the College Classroom

On Wednesdays from February 1 to March 29. Weekly online meetings at 12-1:30PM ET/11AM-12:30PM CT/10-11:30AM MT/9-10:30AM PT

The course is designed for STEM educators interested in considering diversity issues in college-level teaching. Students will create their own inclusive teaching plan and present it to the class at the end of the semester. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 32 students.

Basics of Online Learning and Teaching

On Thursdays with online meetings February 2, March 16, and March 30 - April 20 at 1:30-3PM ET/12:30-2PM CT/11:30AM-1PM MT/10:30AM-12PM PT

This course is designed to help graduate students and postdocs new to teaching online learn how to design and run an effective course. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 30 students.

Research Mentor Training

On Thursdays from February 2 to April 20. Weekly online meetings at 3-4:15PM ET/2-3:15PM CT/1-2:15PM MT/12-1:15PM PT

In this seminar-style class, participants will work with a community of peers to develop and improve their mentoring skills through the examination of case studies from across the STEM disciplines. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 25 students.

Service-Learning in STEM Classrooms: Introduction to Pedagogy and Practice 

On Tuesdays from February 7 to March 28. Weekly online meetings at 2-4PM ET/1-3PM CT/12-2PM MT/11AM-1PM PT

This course will introduce best practices, research, and examples of the service-learning pedagogy, with a special focus on STEM disciplines. Not available for credit. Open to 20 students.