Course, MOOC, and Workshop Registration via CIRTL

Kate Stuart
September 5, 2017
Posted in Announcements

September at CIRTL:

Course, MOOC, and Workshop Registration

Course registration is open through Monday, September 25; register by September 18 to receive early bird priority. MOOC registration is open until October 2, when the MOOC begins. Workshop registration opens approximately 3 weeks before a workshop takes place, and stays open for 2 weeks; 3 workshops will be opening for registration later this month.

All courses and workshops have enrollment caps, so registration does not guarantee enrollment. Anyone can register, but STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. You'll need an account on our website to register, and we'll refer to the institution, discipline, and role listed in your profile to help determine your registration priority.

Questions about registration? Contact us at registration@cirtl.net.

 

Courses & MOOC Open for Registration

Teaching with Technology

Mondays, 10/2-12/4: 11:30AM-1PM ET / 10:30AM-12PM CT / 9:30-11AM MT / 8:30-10AM PT

Discover new instructional tools and learn how to critically evaluate evolving technologies. Cap: 25. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

Teaching-as-Research

Mondays, 10/2-12/4: 2PM-3:30PM ET / 1PM-2:30PM CT / 12PM-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT

Plan and refine your own Teaching-as-Research project alongside a learning community of peers. Cap: 20. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

Creating Assessments for the STEM Classroom

Tuesdays, 10/3-11/28: 11:30AM-1PM ET / 10:30AM-12PM CT / 9:30AM-11AM MT / 8:30AM-10AM PT

Learn how to create and implement assessments particular to STEM courses. Cap: 30. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

The College Classroom: Teaching Inclusively

Tuesdays, 10/3-11/28: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Study issues of inclusion and develop an inclusive micro-teaching plan in this hands-on course. Cap: 30. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

Diversity in the College Classroom

Wednesdays, 10/4-12/6: 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT

Understand the theory behind how diversity affects learning and develop practical classroom strategies. Cap: 20. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

Gender Bias Intervention in STEM for Women and Men

Thursdays, 10/5-12/7: 11:30AM-1:30PM ET / 10:30AM-12:30PM CT / 9:30-11:30AM MT / 8:30-10:30AM PT

Analyze gender bias and collaboratively develop approaches to counter gender bias in STEM. Cap: 35. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching (CIRTL MOOC)

Runs Monday, October 2 through Friday, November 17

Learn about STEM teaching at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap. Registration: 8/28-10/2.

 

Workshops Opening for Registration This Month

Qualitative Research Primer: Using Narrative Data In Your Teaching-as-Research Project

Tuesdays, 10/10 and 10/24: 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT

Get an introduction to analyzing narrative data (intended especially for students pursuing a TAR project). Cap: 30. Registration: 9/18-10/2.

5 Things To Do on the First and Last Day of Class

Thursday, October 19 and November 16 at 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM 

Learn essential tips for making the most of your first and last days of class. Cap: 50. Registration: 9/25-10/9.

Finding and Evaluating Educational Literature

Friday, 10/20 and 10/27: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT

Learn how to find and critically evaluate literature for educational research. Cap: 20. Registration: 9/25-10/9.