Fall 2015 CIRTL Online Offerings, including Teaching with Technology, etc

Kate Stuart
July 13, 2015
Posted in Announcements

CIRTL courses are an opportunity to engage in an interactive and synchronous or hybrid online learning experience with other students and instructors from across the CIRTL Network. 

Graduate students and postdoctoral fellows in a STEM or SBE (social, behavioral, economic) field and from a CIRTL Network institution are given priority registration. 

Fall 2015 Courses: 

Teaching with Technology

Service-Learning in STEM Classrooms:
Introduction to Pedagogy and Practice

Developing a Teaching Portfolio

Diversity in the College Classroom 

Creating Assessments and Evaluation Plans Short Course 


Registration opens July 20 at 
www.cirtl.net/upcoming courses

Please e-mail registration@cirtl.netwith any questions or concerns about the CIRTL courses.


Teaching with Technology
September 8, 2015 - October 27, 2015
Weekly Tuesday meetings
3:00-4:30 ET/2:00-3:30 CT/1:00-2:30 MT/12:00-1:30PT
Robert A. Linsenmeier, Northwestern University
Steven M. Roth, University of Maryland
Sabrina Kramer, University of Maryland

Course Summary
Instructors have many choices of technologies (e.g. clickers, online homework platforms, learning management systems, simulations and modeling, asynchronous delivery) to enhance traditional methods of presentation, assessment, and communication in STEM courses, but there are challenges in adopting new technologies. This course aims to understand how each of several technologies supports some aspect of learning. For each technology, the focus will be on a critical, literature based assessment of pros and cons and applicability, rather than mechanics of implementation. Each student will investigate a technology of interest, report to the class on it, and, where possible, demonstrate it. Students will learn about current technologies helpful in different aspects of teaching, and the course will provide a foundation for instructors to make intelligent choices about new technologies to adopt as they continue to evolve. Assignments will include reflecting on assigned readings, participating in weekly discussions, and one investigation and presentation of a learning technology.Available for 1 local credit. 


Service-Learning in STEM Classrooms: Introduction to Pedagogy and Practice

September 15, 2015 - November 3, 2015

Weekly Tuesday meetings

2:00-4:00 ET/1:00-3:00 CT/12:00-2:00 MT/11:00-1:00 PT
Paul Matthews, University of Georgia 

 

Course Summary 
Interested in learning more about academic service-learning and how to implement it into a course you're teaching? Perhaps you're curious how service-learning is different from volunteering, outreach, or internships. Join us for a practical and applicable introductory course on the basics of service-learning pedagogy, with special focus on STEM disciplines. See the full list of the course's guiding questionshereAvailable for 1 local credit. 

 


Developing a Teaching Portfolio
September 16, 2015 - November 18, 2015
Primarily asynchronous with two synchronous meetings
Sept 16 & Nov 18, 3:00-5:00 ET/2:00-4:00 CT/1:00-3:00 MT/12:00-2:00 PT

Nancy Abney, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Course Summary 
This course guides participants in developing a personal teaching portfolio for documenting teaching effectiveness. The web-based curriculum introduces essential elements of the portfolio, provides tools for gathering necessary evidence, and through peer and individual feedback from the instructor, assists participants in summarizing their teaching experiences, effectively presenting evidence of teaching evaluations, and drafting a personal philosophy of teaching. The final product is a powerful tool for continued reflection on teaching practices as well as enhanced job search potential. Available for 2 local credits. 


Diversity in the College Classroom
September 14 - November 9, 2015
Weekly Monday meetings

2:00-3:30 ET/1:00-2:30 CT/12:00-1:30 MT/11:00-12:30 PT
Denise Leonard, Washington University in St. Louis
Elizabeth Ricks, Howard University

Course Summary 
Become a better college instructor by considering the complex issues of diversity and how to address them effectively in your classroom practice. Current graduate students and faculty are recognizing that we must consider that the way we teach differentially impacts the success of all our students. This course is designed for graduate students and post-docs who have an interest in advancing diversity issues as educators. Participants in this course will take a critical yet practical look at how we define diversity and for what purposes, and discuss the ways different definitions of diversity might influence what and how we teach our disciplinary topics. Participants will also create a diversity-focused plan of action for their future teaching practice. Available for 1 local credit. 


September 10, 2015 - December 3, 2015

Biweekly Thursday meetings, 2:00-3:00 ET/1:00-2:00 CT/12:00-1:00 MT/11:00-12:00 PT

Mary Besterfield-Sacre, University of Pittsburgh

Julie Breckenridge, University of Pittsburgh

 

Course Summary

Creating an assessment tool that measures your intended student learning outcomes is critical. You don't know if you have achieved the learning outcome unless you've properly measured it! This short course is intended to help participants learn and develop skills associated with creating and implementing assessments particular to STEM courses. Each week, students will pre-read information related to assessment. Each synchronous session will review aspects of the technique (development issues, implementation and administration, when best to apply, etc) as well as provide examples. Not available for credit.