Fall 2017 CIRTL Offerings: Teaching as Research, Diversity in Teaching, much more!

Kate Stuart
August 9, 2017
Posted in Announcements

The CIRTL Network's fall courses, workshops, events, MOOC, and teaching institute have been scheduled! Our fall semester begins on Monday, October 2 (at which point all our member institutions will be in session), and it ends on Friday, December 15. 

One course and several workshops have tentative schedules; those are marked with an asterisk, and we have provided as much confirmed detail about their schedules as possible. As those few final schedules are set, we'll announce them here. 

Course registration will open on August 28, while workshops will open for registration on an individual basis approximately three weeks before their start date. The MOOC will open for registration later this month and registration for the teaching institute is TBD. Whenever a registration period opens, we'll announce it in our weekly newsletter. Events run on a drop-in basis and do not require advance registration.

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.

Fall 2017 Online Courses

Teaching with Technology*

Mondays, 10/2-12/4: Exact time is TBD. 90-minute sessions will fall within 11:30AM-1:30PM ET / 10:30AM-12:30PM CT / 9:30-11:30AM MT / 8:30-10:30AM PT

Discover new instructional tools and learn how to critically evaluate evolving technologies.

Teaching-as-Research

Mondays, 10/2-12/4: 2PM-3:30PM ET / 1PM-2:30PM CT / 12PM-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT

Plan and refine your own Teaching-as-Research project alongside a learning community of peers.

Creating Assessments for the STEM Classroom

Tuesdays, 10/3-11/28: 11:30AM-1PM ET / 10:30AM-12PM CT / 9:30AM-11AM MT / 8:30AM-10AM PT

Learn how to create and implement assessments particular to STEM courses.

The College Classroom: Teaching Inclusively

Tuesdays, 10/3-11/28: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Study issues of inclusion and develop an inclusive micro-teaching plan in this hands-on course.

Diversity in the College Classroom

Wednesdays, 10/4-12/6: 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT

Understand the theory behind how diversity affects learning and develop practical classroom strategies.

Gender Bias Intervention in STEM for Women and Men

Thursdays, 10/5-12/7: 11:30AM-1:30PM ET / 10:30AM-12:30PM CT / 9:30-11:30AM MT / 8:30-10:30AM PT

Analyze gender bias and collaboratively develop approaches to counter gender bias in STEM.

 

Fall 2017 Online Workshops

Qualitative Research Primer: Using Narrative Data In Your Teaching-as-Research Project

Tuesdays, 10/10 and 10/24: 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT

Get an introduction to analyzing narrative data (intended especially for students pursuing a TAR project).

Finding and Evaluating Educational Literature

Friday, 10/20 and 10/27: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT

Learn how to find and critically evaluate literature for educational research.

Diversity Statement Workshop*

Mondays, 10/23 and 10/30: Exact time is TBD. 90-minute sessions will fall within 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT

Learn how to draft a meaningful statement that is a common part of job applications.

Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan*

Wednesday, 11/1: Exact time is TBD. Tentative schedule is 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT 

Craft a robust IDP draft and action plan by learning the components of successful, sustainable plans.

Integrating Civic Learning into the STEM Classroom

Thursdays, 11/2 and 11/9: 2:30-4PM ET / 1:30-3PM CT / 12:30-2PM MT / 11:30AM-1PM PT

Civic learning intentionally prepares students for informed and engaged participation in their communities. Learn how to develop civic learning assignments and learning goals in this workshop.

Introduction to STEM Project Based Learning

Thursdays, 11/9 and 11/16: 8-9:30PM ET / 7-8:30PM CT / 6-7:30PM MT / 5-6:30PM PT

In project-based learning, students investigate relevant, complex scientific situations to learn new concepts. Learn how to design project-based learning activities in this workshop.

Leveraging Open Source Principles and Resources for Teaching and Learning in STEM

Fridays, 11/10 and 11/17: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Learn the advantages and disadvantages of open source educational materials and sample two platforms with hands-on activities.

Writing a Teaching Philosophy Statement

Thursday, 11/30: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Draft a peer-reviewed statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences.

Teaching Inclusively

Tuesday, 12/5 or 12/12 (exact date TBD): 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Practice navigating difficult classroom discussions around issues of inclusion and diversity.

5 Things To Do on the First and Last Day of Class*

Schedule TBD

Learn essential tips for making the most of your first and last days of class.

 

Fall 2017 Online Drop-In Events

Topics in STEMinism: Women Preparing for Post-PhD Careers in STEM

Wednesdays in October: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT

Examine the various ways in which social and cultural contexts shape women's experiences in male-dominated STEM fields in this four-part event series. Events in the series include:

10/4: The Status of Women Scientists

10/11: Preparing for and Navigating the Job Market

10/18: Women in STEM Careers Panel

10/25: Exploring Critical and/or Feminist STEM Teaching and Research

All-Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations

Wednesday, 11/29: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT

Hear grad students and postdocs from across the CIRTL Network share the results of their Teaching-as-Research projects.

 

Fall 2017 MOOC

An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching

Runs Monday, October 2 through Friday, November 17

Learn about STEM teaching at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty.

 

Fall 2017 Face-to-Face Teaching Institute

Teaching at Teaching Intensive Institutions

Friday, October 6

This day-long institute gives grad students and postdocs an introduction to teaching at teaching-intensive institutions. The institute is co-sponsored by University of Massachusetts, Amherst and will take place at Westfield State University in Westfield, Massachusetts.