Great Teaching in the US web series via CIRTL

Kate Stuart
October 5, 2016
Posted in Announcements

This year our Teaching in the US event series, designed to help international TAs acclimate to the US higher education system, launches on Monday, October 10 with a session on peer-to-peer learning. You can find the full 2016-2017 schedule for Teaching in the US below.

 

Teaching in the US 2016-2017 Schedule

Retrieval Practice: An Effective Technique to Enhance Student Learning

Monday, October 10: 11AM-12PM ET/10-11AM CT/9-10AM MT/8-9AM PT

What is peer-to-peer learning, and how does it help learning and development? How and why might you implement more peer-to-peer instruction in your classroom? Join us discuss the shift to peer learning and what makes it effective for you as both an instructor and a student. Come ready with questions for discussion!

Motivating Students, or It’s MY Job to Make them Want to Learn?! 

Monday, November 14: 11AM-12PM ET/10-11AM CT/9-10AM MT/8-9AM PT

Have you observed that your students don’t seem motivated in the classroom? Have you heard phrases such as “student engagement” or “six steps to motivate your students” and wondered what they mean for you? Join us to discuss and ask questions about theories of student motivation and student engagement pedagogies.

Teaching Writing in Your Classes When You Still Seek Support for Your Own Writing
Monday, January 9: 11AM-12PM ET/10-11AM CT/9-10AM MT/8-9AM PT

Most classes require some writing, but many instructors, at all levels, feel ill-prepared to help students write better. When English isn’t your first language, that discomfort may be intensified. In this interactive event you'll learn ways to teach writing in your courses that will benefit your students and help you feel more confident in your own writing. Come with an idea for a writing assignment for a course OR a question about writing.