Registration open for CIRTL Spring 2016 Courses

Kate Stuart
November 25, 2015

Next spring CIRTL is offering four courses that each reinforce our pedagogical cornerstones.

Two courses, The College Classroom and Research Mentor Training, are currently open for registration. Our Teaching-As-Research course will open in the coming weeks. Registration for our spring MOOC on Teaching-as-Research in the context of evidence-based STEM teaching, will be open in early 2016.

Visit our website to read more and register for a course:www.cirtl.net/upcomingcourses

The College Classroom
On Thursdays starting January 28 at 12:30PM ET/11:30AM CT/ 10:30AM MT/9:30AM PT

Build on your own TA experience with this seminar on evidence-based teaching. You'll learn how to create and refine evidence-based practices that support student learning in this course, which will cover everything from pedagogical theory to lesson plan designs.

Instructors:
Peter Newbury, Associate Director, Center for Engaged Teaching, UC San Diego
Thomas Holme, Professor, Chemistry, Iowa State University


Research Mentor Training
On Thursdays starting January 28 at 2PM ET/1PM CT/12PM MT/ 11AM PT

Learn new tools for being an effective, insightful mentor for STEM students in this seminar. You'll work with a community of peers to develop and improve your mentoring by learning about effective communication, intercultural awareness, and more.

Instructors:
Bennett Goldberg, Professor of Physics and Director of STEM Education Initiatives, Boston University
Colleen McLinn, Program Director, CU-CIRTL, Cornell University


Teaching-As-Research
Time and date TBD. This course will open for registration in the coming weeks

Every year, students at CIRTL universities pursue unique Teaching-As-Research (TAR) projects to help them become stronger STEM instructors through evidence-based practices. In this course, you will be able to lay the groundwork and develop a proposal for your own TAR project. This course will provide guidance to students at the start of that research process and take you through the development of a full TAR proposal ready for implementation. The course may draw on some material and activities from the spring CIRTL MOOC.

Instructors:
Nicholas Gross, Adjunct faculty, School of Education, Boston University
Bhavna Sharma, Postdoctoral fellow, Department of Agronomy, Iowa State University


CIRTL MOOC: Advancing Learning through Evidence-Based STEM Teaching 
See www.stemteachingcourse.org for schedule information. Our MOOC will open for registration in early 2016

This course will provide graduate students and post-doctoral fellows in the STEM disciplines with an introduction to “teaching as research”—the deliberate, systematic, and reflective use of research methods to develop and implement teaching practices that advance the learning experiences and outcomes of both students and teachers. Participants will learn about effective teaching strategies and the research that supports them, and they will learn how to collect, analyze, and act upon their own evidence of student learning. In addition to the online course, many CIRTL universities will be hosting in-person, MOOC-centered learning communities; contact your local CIRTL office to learn more about on-campus activities.

Instructors:
Faculty from across the CIRTL Network

 

 

For further information, please visit www.cirtl.net/upcomingcourses.