This week with CIRTL... Using Visuals, Teaching Philosophies, and more!

Kate Stuart
April 11, 2016
Posted in Announcements

This week CIRTL is hosting a journal club, workshop, and Teaching in the US event - each touching on different aspects of teaching practices and philosophies. Our workshop is only available to students who registered ahead of time, but our journal club and Teaching in the US discussion are drop-in events open to all.


Visuals in STEM Teaching and Learning 
April 12: 2PM ET/1PM CT/12PM MT/11AM PT 
Part of our monthly CIRTL Reads Journal Club, co-hosted with University of Colorado Boulder

While graphics have the potential to communicate and support critical research arguments, a qualitative pilot study shows that visual depictions aren't always accurate translations. We'll discuss the results of this study as well as its implications for intro-level learners in our final CIRTL Reads session of the year.

Discussant: Adam Blanford, University of Colorado Boulder

Article"The Visual Invention Practices of STEM Researchers: An Exploratory Topology" in Science Communication. Go to the CIRTL Reads Moodle page for article access. Don't have a Moodle account? Request one at www.cirtl.net/moodleaccount.

Developing a Teaching Philosophy Statement
April 13: 2:30-4PM ET/1:30-3PM CT/12:30-2PM MT/11:30AM-1PM PT

This workshop is open only to students who registered ahead of time

In this workshop, you will learn how to write an effective, peer-reviewed teaching philosophy statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences, approaches to student learning, and examples of best practices in evidence-based instruction. This is the first of two online sessions that all workshop participants are required to attend.

Developing Your Own Teaching Philosophy by Incorporating Your Cultural Background
April 14: 12-1PM ET/11AM-12PM CT/10-11AM MT/9-10AM PT
Part of our monthly Teaching in the US series, organized by University of Maryland, College Park

International TAs’ diverse cultural backgrounds are a valuable resource for their professional development, and in this session, ITAs will learn how to incorporate their backgrounds into personalized teaching philosophies.

SpeakerKhara Schonfeld-Karan, University of Maryland, College Park