Writing a Teaching Philosophy Statement, Work-Life Resilience, Workshops offered this Fall

Kate Stuart
August 14, 2016
Posted in Announcements

CIRTL's upcoming Fall workshops cover diverse topics! Check out the offerings below!

 

Writing a Teaching Philosophy Statement 
Wednesday, September 14 and 28 at 2:30-4:30PM ET/1:30-3:30PM CT/12:30-2:30PM MT/11:30AM-1:30PM PT

In this two-part workshop, you will learn how to write an effective, peer-reviewed teaching philosophy statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences, approaches to student learning, and examples of best practices in evidence-based instruction. Open for registration August 15 through September 6.

Upcoming Fall Workshops

Writing Effective Multiple-Choice Exam Questions  
Tuesday, October 4 at 11AM-1PM ET/10AM-12PM CT/9-11AM MT/8-10AM PT

This workshop will cover methods for designing multiple choice questions that test critical thinking as well as other best practice tips, guidelines, and advice. Participants will construct their own multiple-choice questions and, through peer review, learn how to refine their work. Open for registration September 6 through September 26.

Creating Effective Learning Communities in Teaching and Research 
Thursday, October 13 and 27 at 2-3:30PM ET/1-2:30PM CT/12-1:30PM MT/11AM-12:30PM PT

This two-part workshop will provide training for postdocs and junior faculty that provides an introduction to building and sustaining learning communities and increases their facilitation and participation skills. Open for registration September 12 through October 3.

Universal Design for Learning: Reaching and Teaching Diverse Learners
Wednesday, November 16 at 2-4PM ET/1-3PM CT/12-2PM MT/11AM-1PM PT

In this workshop, you will learn how to apply Universal Design for Learning (UDL) principles to your teaching methods in a way that can reach a broader range of learners, and consider ways to apply UDL principles to reduce barriers to learning in their courses. Open for registration October 17 through November 7.

Developing Work-Life Resilience 
Tuesday, November 29 at 2-3:30PM ET/1-2:30PM CT/12-1:30PM MT/11AM-12:30PM PT

This workshop will provide training for students and postdocs to develop and sustain the support systems that will be required for them to establish their own work-life balance and successfully complete career transition milestones. Open for registration October 31 through November 21.