Anesthesiology

An anesthesiologist is trained to provide pain relief and maintenance, or restoration, of a stable condition during and immediately following an operation, an obstetric or diagnostic procedure. The anesthesiologist assesses the risk of the patient undergoing surgery and optimizes the patient's condition prior to, during, and after surgery. In addition to these management responsibilities, the anesthesiologist provides medical management and consultation in pain management and critical care medicine. Anesthesiologists diagnose and treat acute, long-standing and cancer pain problems; diagnose and treat patients with critical illnesses or severe injuries; direct resuscitation in the care of patients with cardiac or respiratory emergencies, including the need for artificial ventilation; and supervise post anesthesia recovery. -The American Board of Medical Specialties

See the Specialties page if you have not yet registered for AAMC CiM.

AAMC CiM - Anesthesiology 

Mean USMLE Step 1 Score: 227
Total Residency Length: 4 years
Number of programs: 132

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Amy Robertson (amy.robertson@vanderbit.edu)

VUMC Residency Director

Dr. Brian Gelfand (brian.j.gelfand@vanderbilt.edu)

VUMC Faculty to Contact
VMS students have recommended these faculty members as great contacts for career info, shadowing experiences, and research opportunities.

Dr. Michael Pilla (michael.a.pilla@Vanderbilt.Edu)
Dr. Matthew McEvoy (matthew.d.mcevoy@Vanderbilt.Edu)
Dr. Jane Easdown (jane.easdown@Vanderbilt.Edu)
Dr. Jesse Ehrenfeld (jesse.ehrenfeld@Vanderbilt.Edu)
Dr. Pratik Pandharipande (pratik.pandharipande@Vanderbilt.Edu)