Oncology

The CiM Oncology Interest Group takes a multidisciplinary approach to exposing VUMC students to the many dimensions of cancer care. Cancer affects a wide range of people, and, regardless of what specialty one may choose, the care of cancer patients will be a critical component of any training or practice. Thus, our group aims to share perspectives from medical oncologists, pediatric oncologists, radiation oncologists, surgical oncologists, preventive health specialists, palliative care specialists, and biomedical researchers to provide information to interested students about why and how to pursue a career in oncology. Additionally, our group works with patient advocacy groups and fundraises for local cancer charities to support connections between the medical community and the patients we care for. We welcome medical students of all levels who would like to learn more about the many aspects of oncology, including clinical practice and research opportunities.

Eileen Shiuan (eileen.f.shiuan@vanderbilt.edu)
Bradley Reinfeld (bradley.reinfeld@Vanderbilt.Edu)
Michael Raddatz (michael.a.raddatz@vanderbilt.edu)

 

Faculty Advisors:
Dr. Christine Lovly: christine.lovly@vanderbilt.edu
Dr. Sally York: sally.j.york@vanderbilt.edu
Dr. Douglas Johnson: douglas.b.johnson@vanderbilt.edu 

Relevant VUMC Contacts:
Hematology/Oncology Fellowship Program Director: Dr. Jill Gilbert (jill.gilbert@vanderbilt.edu
Radiation Oncology Residency Program Director: Dr. Anuradha (Bapsi) Chakravarthy (bapsi.chak@vanderbilt.edu
Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Fellowship Program Director: Dr. Scott Borinstein (scott.borinstein@vanderbilt.edu

Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center (VICC): http://www.vicc.org/

Department of Medicine – Oncology: https://medicine.mc.vanderbilt.edu/welcome-division-hematologyoncology

Department of Pediatrics – Oncology: http://pediatrics.mc.vanderbilt.edu/interior.php?mid=4784

Department of Radiation Oncology: https://medschool.vanderbilt.edu/radiation-oncology/

Department of Cancer Biology: https://medschool.vanderbilt.edu/cancer-biology/