Ophthalmology

Ophthalmology deals with the structure, function, diagnosis, and treatment of the eye and the visual system. This includes problems affecting the eye and its component structures, the eyelids, the orbit, and the visual pathways. Ophthalmologists are medically trained to provide patients with total eye care using medical, surgical, and rehabilitative services. In so doing, an ophthalmologist also prescribes vision services, including glasses and contact lenses. Subspecialty options within ophthalmology include glaucoma, retina (medical and surgical), uveitis, pediatrics and strabismus, cornea and refractive surgery, neuro-ophthalmology, as well as ophthalmic plastic surgery. - Adapted from AAMC Careers in Medicine and The American Board of Medical Specialties.

See the Specialties page if you have not yet registered for AAMC CiM

 

Current match data:

# CAS participants: 795
#rank lists submitted: 634
#applicants ranked: 624

 

% matching
Overall: 74%
US Seniors: 92%

 

469 positions offered, 467 filled

 

Avg Step 1 of matched applicants: 244
Avg Step 1 of unmatched applicants: 229
Avg applications/applicant: 68
Avg # offers/applicant: 4.4

 

Matthew De Niear (matthew.a.de.niear@vanderbilt.edu)
Daniel Valenzuela (Daniel.a.valenzuela@vanderbilt.edu)
Katherine Sumarriva (katherine.sumarriva@vanderbilt.edu)

Faculty Advisor:
Janice Law (janice.law@vanderbilt.edu)


VUMC Residency Director:
Laura Wayman (laura.l.wayman@vanderbilt.edu)


VUMC Faculty to Contact:
VMS students have recommended these faculty members as great contacts for career info, shadowing experiences, and research opportunities
Paul Sternberg (paul.sternberg@vanderbilt.edu) - Chairman
David Calkins (david.j.calkins@vanderbilt.edu ) - Director for Research
Sean Donahue (sean.donahue@vanderbilt.edu) - Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs
Janice Law (janice.law@vanderbilt.edu) - Assistant Program Director

 

http://www.aao.org (The American Academy of Ophthalmology) .
http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/2997.html (FRIEDA)
http://www.sfmatch.org (San Francisco Match)
http://www.aamc.org/students/eras/ (Electronic Residency Application Service)