Skip to main content

DHSS Academic Calendar

Fall Semester, 2018

Aug. 20-21, Mon-Tue.  New Student Orientation & Fall registration/change period begins
Aug. 22, Wednesday  Classes begin
Aug. 29, Wednesday  Clinics begin for continuing students
Sept. 3, Monday  Labor Day Holiday (School of Medicine)
Sept. 5, Wednesday  Clinics begin for incoming students
 Fall registration ends
Oct. 18-19, Thur.-Fri  Fall Break (PhD, SLP, MDE & 1-3 year AUD)
Oct. 31, Thursday  Spring registration opens
Nov. 15, Thursday  Capstone Manuscripts due to Committee (3rd yr AUD students)
Nov. 17-25, Sat-Sun  Thanksgiving Holidays (PhD, SLP, MDE & 1-3 yr AUD)
Dec. 6, Thursday  Classes/Clinics End
 Deadline to Orally Defend Capstone (3rd yr AUD students)
Dec. 7-14, Fri-Fri  Examinations and reading
Dec. 17, Monday  Last day for faculty to submit final grades for PhD program
Dec. 26, Wednesday  Last day for faculty to submit final grades for AUD, MDE, MS-SLP programs
Dec. 15 – Jan. 6, Sat-Sun  Holiday break (PhD, SLP, MDE & 1-3 yr AUD)

Spring Semester, 2019

Jan. 7, Monday  Classes/Clinics begin
Jan. 21, Monday  Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday
Jan. 21, Monday  Spring registration closes
Jan. 31, Thursday  Deadline for SLP students requesting thesis track
Feb. 1, Friday  Deadline for completing capstone revisions (3rd yr AUDs)
Mar. 2-10, Sat-Sun  Spring Holidays (PhD, non-extern SLP, MDE & 1-3 yr AUDs)
Mar. 25, Monday  Registration opens
Apr. 1, Monday  Proposals due to Capstone Committee (2nd yr AUDs)
Apr. 22, Monday  Classes/Clinics End
Apr. 23 – May 2, Tue-Thur.  Reading days and examinations
May 5, Sunday  Last day for faculty to submit final grades
May 9, Thursday  DHSS graduation celebration
May 10, Friday  Commencement

Maymester 2019

May 6, Monday  MDE, Specialty Track and Voice Track Students

Summer Session 2019

June 4, Tuesday  Classes/Clinics begin
June 6, Thursday  Registration closes for AUD, MDE, MS-SLP students*
July 4, Thursday  Independence Day Holiday
Aug. 9, Friday  Classes/Clinics end
Aug. 12-13, Mon-Tues  Exams
Aug. 16, Friday  Last day for faculty to submit final grades

Academic Calendar 2019-2020

(subject to change)

Fall 2019 semester

August 19-20, 2019 – 1st year Orientation

August 21, 2019 – Classes begin
September 4, 2019 – Registration closes
October 24-25, 2019 – Mini Fall Break
November 23-Dec. 1, 2019 – Thanksgiving Holidays
December 5, 2019 – Classes end
December 14, 2019 – Last day of exams
December 18, 2019 – Last day for faculty to submit final grades
December 24, 2019 – January 1, 2020 – VUSM closed for winter break

Spring 2020 semester

November 6, 2019 – Registration opens
January 6, 2020 – Classes begin
January 17, 2020 – Registration closes
January 20, 2020 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
February 29-March 8, 2020 – Spring Break
April 20, 2020 – Classes end
April 30, 2020 – Last day of exams
May 2, 2020 – Last day for faculty to submit grades
May 8, 2020 – Commencement

Summer 2020 semester

March 23, 2020 – Registration opens
May 4, 2020 – May session begins
May 29, 2020 – May session ends
June 2, 2020 – Regular summer classes begin
August 7, 2020 – Regular summer classes end
August 13, 2020 – Last day for faculty to submit grades