May 8, 2017

MSTP Celebrations - May



Congratulations to the MSTP Graduating Class of 2017! Left to right: Tony McClure, Troy Hutchens, Bobak Parang, Catherine Meador, Scott McCall, Kristie Aamodt, Pratik Talati, MSTP Director Chris Williams, Rafal Sobota. Not pictured: Sherry Wen and Katie Ryan.


On May 18, the MSTP G2 class celebrated their Halftime and received their honorary "MP" degrees. As their incoming medical school classmates graduate, the MSTP would like to celebrate all that these budding physician-scientists have accomplished thus far both professionally and personally. We could not be more excited to see what they will continue to accomplish!


Congratulations to Danny Winder, PhD, MSTP Associate Director, for receiving the VUMC Guengerich Award for Mentoring Postdoctoral Fellows or Residents in the Research Setting!



Congratulations to Lourdes Estrada, PhD, MSTP Associate Director, for being inducted into the Vanderbilt Academy of Excellence in Education!

Melissa Bloodworth Celebrations.jpg

Congratulations to Melissa Bloodworth (G4) for winning the best Basic Science Poster at the Office of Graduate Medical Education's 35th Annual Research Forum! Melissa's poster was titled "IL-4 Signaling Attenuates IL-17-Producing γδ T Cells During Klebsiella Pneumoniae Infection"


The 2017 Shade Tree Trot was held on April 22nd. Co-directed by MSTP G2 Joey Elsakr (along with 3rd year Emilie Amaro), the Trot attracted 550 registrants. Together with the associated Shade Tree Benefit Dinner, approximately $75,000 was raised for the Shade Tree Clinic. Thank you to all the MSTP who participated in this year's race!

Congratulations to the following MSTP Mentors on their recent accomplishments

  • David Aronoff, M.D., MSTP Advising College Leader to Avery-Cohen, was named a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology. Click here to read more.
  • Alvin Powers, M.D., Ph.D., P.I. to Rachana Haliyur (G3) and Jack Walker (G1), was elected to the Association of American Physicians. Click here to read more.
  • Mia Levy, M.D., Ph.D., P.I. to Ravi Atreya (M3), received the Vanderbilt Sidney P. Colowick Award for research that serves as a platform for discovery in diverse areas. Click here to read more.
  • Elizabeth Phillips, M.D., P.I. to Katherine Konvinse (G2), and Simon Mallal, M.B.,B.S., P.I. to Chike Abana (G3), received the Vanderbilt William J. Darby Award for translational research that has changed the practice of medicine worldwide. Click here to read more.