Dr. Wayman recipient of the 2014 Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education

June 26, 2014
Posted in accolades

Laura Wayman, MD, has been awarded the prestigious Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education for 2014!

This award was established by the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) and the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO) and carries the name and honors the achievements of Dr. Bradley Straatsma, former Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the UCLA Jules Stein Eye Institute.  The award recognizes the critical role of the Residency Program Director and honors an individual felt to be the premier program director in the nation. 

Dr. Wayman will be recognized at the Opening Session of the AAO Annual Meeting in Chicago this fall at the annual meeting of the AUPO in 2015 in Tucson.  She will deliver a keynote address at both meetings.

The Straatsma Award is one of the true preeminent awards in our profession and the premier award in education.  Dr. Wayman’s recognition not only honors her, but also all of the faculty and staff that have helped make our residency program so outstanding and, of course, the superb residents whom she has served during her time at Vanderbilt.