Driving

Car and Title Registration

If you plan to establish Tennessee residence, you can have your car titled and registered at the County Clerk’s Office in the Howard Office Building (700 2nd Ave S 862-6251). Hours are Mon - Fri 8:00am - 4:30pm. The cost will be about $66 (includes $8 title fee), with annual renewals probably a little under that. It might be a good idea to call first and get directions before you head out and get lost. Nashville residents are usually required to purchase a “Metro Sticker” for their car, valid for one year (but the price of this is included in the initial cost or renewal). You can renew your registration and sticker at various satellite locations such as Green Hills (which is closer to campus).

Car and Title Registration

700 2nd Ave South Suite 101

(615) 862-6251

Mon - Fri: 8 AM - 4 PM

www.nashvilleclerk.com

Tennessee Department of Safety

Driver's License

Tennessee Department of Safety

1150 Foster Ave

(615) 251-5216

Mon - Fri: 8 AM - 4 PM

24-hour line (615) 741-3954

www.state.tn.us/safety

Emissions Testing

Before you can get a Tennessee license plate, you must take your car for emissions testing. The cost is $9 (in cash) and don’t forget to bring your title or registration. Check the website below or call for the addresses of the testing centers.

Emissions Testing

(615) 399-8995

Stations are open Mon – Sat with hours varying from station to station.

www.nashvilleclerk.com/motor-vehicles/emissions-testing/

Traffic Laws

Don’t drink and drive. Most students here are responsible about having designated drivers. Turning right on a red light is okay at most intersections, but some have found that the violation costs them a cool $200. Everyone in your car must wear a seatbelt: “Click It or Ticket!” Cops are generally out more at night and weekends, especially downtown and on Broadway and West End Ave.