Skip to main content

Paul D. Lamson Lecture


2013 Paul D. Lamson/Discovery Lecture
Jonathan Seidman, Ph.D.
Department of Genetics
Harvard Medical School

This event is co-sponsored by Department of Pharmacology & Department of Otolaryngology

Jonathan Seidman, Ph.D., Department of Genetics, Harvard Medical School, will present “Next generation sequencing has revolutionized cardiovascular genetics” for the Lamson/Discovery Lecture on Thursday, March 14, 2013. 

Dr. Jon Seidman is Henrietta B. and Frederick H. Bugher Foundation Professor of Genetics at Harvard Medical School. He received his undergraduate degree from Harvard University (’72) and his Ph.D. degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His postdoctoral studies were carried out in Dr. Philip Leder’s laboratory at the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. He has been a member of the Genetics Department, Harvard Medical School since 1981.

The Seidman Laboratory is the research base for a human molecular genetics program co-directed by Christine E. Seidman, MD and Jonathan G. Seidman, PhD. The laboratory harnesses and integrates clinical medicine and molecular technologies to define disease-causing gene mutations and genetic variations that increase disease risk. The laboratory also develops and interrogates genetically engineered models to elucidate pathogenetic mechanisms for human disease. Major research projects focus on discovery of the genetic contributions to cardiovascular disease (including dilated and hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, coronary artery disease and congenital heart disease), hearing loss, and lymphedema. 

Dr. Seidman has made pivotal contributions to our understanding of the genetic basis of cardiomyopathy. He is particularly interested in dominant-acting mutations in sarcomere protein genes that cause hypertrophic cardiomyopathy in humans. The Seidman laboratory has made a murine model of this disease and demonstrated that these mutations lead to altered Ca2+ concentrations in myocytes. Ca2+ channel blockers reduce the hypertrophic response to sarcomere protein gene mutations in mice.

Dr. Seidman developed PMAGE or polony multiplex analysis of gene expression for defining the complete RNA profile of a cell or tissue. Other methods of RNA profiling such as microarrays and SAGE (serial analysis of gene expression) do not assess RNAs expressed at low levels such those that encode transcription factors and signaling molecules. Using PMAGE he can detect RNAs that are present in as few as 0.3 RNA molecules per cell. He is now using PMAGE to study the consequences of gene mutations that cause cardiomyopathies (e.g. dilated cardiomyopathy and hypertrophic cardiomyopathy) as well as congenital heart diseases including tetralogy of Fallot, Holt-Oram Syndrome, atrial septal defect and conduction system disease. Dr. Seidman is a member of the NIH Roadmap Initiative SYSCODE Consortium which is a multi-investigator initiative charged with engineering organs including the tooth, pancreas, and heart valve. He leads Technology Development for the Consortium and has generated novel approaches for RNAseq analysis and data interpretation.

Dr. Seidman was an HHMI Investigator from 1988-2005. In 2002, he shared the Bristol-Myers Squibb Award with his wife and scientific collaborator, Christine Seidman, M.D. He was appointed to the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine in 2007. He is an outstanding scientist whose career illustrates the power of an intellectual partnership that combines basic science expertise with clinical insight.




Paul D. Lamson/Discovery Lecture History

1965 K.K. Chen
1966 Maurice Seevers     
1967 Karl Beyer
1969 Harry Eagle
1971 Bernard B. Brodie
1972 Robert E. Handschumachel   
1974 Paul Greengard *2000
1975 Werner Kalow
1976 Julius Axelrod *1970
1978 James W. Black *1968
1980 Solomon H. Snyder
1982 Floyd E. Bloom
1984 Robert F. Furchgott *1998   
1986 Philip Needleman
1988 Eric R. Kandel *2000
1990 Alfred G. Gilman *1994   
1992 Bert Sakmann *1991
1994 Kevin P. Campbell
1996 Lucy Shapiro
1998 Leroy Hood
2002 Robert Lefkowitz
2004 Sir Michael Berridge
2006 Marc Tessier-Levigne
2008 Ann M. Graybiel​
2010 Susan L. Lindquist​

​2013 Jonathan Seidman