Department of Pharmacology

PhD Program Training Faculty

Appt.

Faculty Member

Research Interests

Sec

Sarki A. Abdulkadir, M.D./Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Pathology and Cancer Biology
B-3321A MCN

Tel.: 615-322-9668

Sarki.abdulkadir@vanderbilt.edu

Molecular genetic analysis of cancer initiation and progression with emphasis on prostate cancer

Sec

Ifeanyi Arinze, Ph.D.

(Meharry Medical College)

 Professor

Dept. of Cardiovascular Biology and Biomedical Sciences

WBS, Room 2103

1005 Dr. D.B. Todd, Jr. Blvd.

Nashville, TN 37208

Tel.: 615-327-6586

iarinze@mmc.edu

Signal transduction mechanisms by which hormones regulate a variety of metabolic processes. Current studies are focused on the ontogeny and regulation of the developmental expression of G-proteins using cultured hematopoietic cells to study molecular mechanisms regulating expression of G-proteins

Pri

Joey V. Barnett, Ph.D.

Acting Chair of Pharmacology

Director of Graduate Studies in Pharmacology

Professor of Pharmacology, Medicine, Pediatrics and Microbiology & Immunology

460B PRB

Tel.: 615-936-1722

joey.barnett@vanderbilt.edu

Peptide growth factors and receptors in development; cardiac development

Pri

Randy D. Blakely, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Molecular Neuroscience

Allan D. Bass Professor of Pharmacology

6133 Medical Research Bldg III

Suite 7140A

Tel: 615-936-3705

Fax: 615-936-3040

randy.blakely@vanderbilt.edu

Neurotransmitter transporter genes and proteins; transporter dysfunction in autonomic, neurologic and psychiatric disorders

Pri

Alan R. Brash, Ph.D.

Professor of Pharmacology

510A RRB

Tel.: 615-343-4495

alan.brash@vanderbilt.edu

Biosynthesis and metabolism of prostaglandins

Sec

Richard M. Breyer, Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology

S3223 MCN

Tel.: 615-343-0257

rich.breyer@vanderbilt.edu

Structure, function, and regulation of prostanoid receptors

Pri

H. Alex Brown, Ph.D.

Ingram Associate Professor of Cancer Research in the Department of Pharmacology

412B PRB

Tel.: 615-936-3888

alex.brown@vanderbilt.edu

Lipid signaling pathways and cellular signal transduction

Sec

Nancy J. Brown, M.D.

Robert H. Williams Professor of Medicine

560 RRB

Tel.: 615-343-7345

Nancy.j.brown@vanderbilt.edu

Cardioprotective effects of bradykinin and on the interaction of the renin-angiotensin-aldosterone and fibrinolytic systems in humans

Sec

David J. Calkins, Ph.D.

Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

11435 MRB4

Tel: 615-936-6412

David.j.calkins@vanderbilt.edu

The laboratory focuses in the molecular mechanisms of neurodegeneration in the visual pathways in health, aging and disease.

Pri

Ana M. Carneiro, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

7144 MRBIII

Tel: 615-936-1699

ana.carneiro@vanderbilt.edu

 

Understanding how conserved protein interactions influence homeostasis of different cells and tissues

Pri

Chang Chung, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Pharmacology

468 RRB

Tel: 615-322-4956

chang.chung@vanderbilt.edu

Molecular genetics; Signal transduction; Signaling pathways; Cytoskeleton; Cell motility; Chemotaxis

Sec

Roger J. Colbran, Ph.D.

Professor of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics

724 RRB

Tel.: 615-936-1630

Fax: 615-322-7236

roger.colbran@vanderbilt.edu

Mechanisms of subcellular targeting and role in regulating protein phosphorylation/ dephosphorylation

Pri

P. Jeffrey Conn, Ph.D.

Professor of Pharmacology and Director of Program in Translational Neuropharmacology

417D PRB

Tel: 615-936-2478

jeff.conn@vanderbilt.edu

Cellular/molecular mechanisms of regulation of neuronal function. Novel treatments for CNS disorders.

Sec

Kevin P. M. Currie, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Pharmacology

B4225 MCN

Tel: 615-322-8514

kevin.currie@vanderbilt.edu

Regulation of voltage-gated calcium channels and neurotransmitter release

Pri

J. Scott Daniels, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

Tel: 615-322-8299

scott.daniels@vanderbilt.edu

Understanding how drug metabolism and pharmacokinetic (DMPK) mechanisms impact the pharmacodynamics of small molecule allosteric modulators of metabotropic glutamate receptors (mGluRs) and muscarinic receptors (mAChRs)

 

Pri

Sean S. Davies, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

506A RRB

Tel: 615-322-5049

sean.davies@vanderbilt.edu

Treatment of chronic disease by modulating oxidative stress

Sec

Jerod S. Denton, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Pharmacology

B4229 MCN

Tel: 615-343-7385

jerod.denton@vanderbilt.edu

Molecular mechanisms and signaling pathways that regulate potassium channel biosynthesis, trafficking, function and degradation.

Sec

Ariel Y. Deutch, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology

Investigator, John F. Kennedy Center for Research on Human Development

Director, National Parkinson Foundation Center of Excellence at Vanderbilt

Psychiatric Hosp. at Vanderbilt, Suite 313

Tel: 615-327-7080

ariel.deutch@vanderbilt.edu

Prefrontal and striatal dopaminergic and serotonergic systems

Sec

Florent Elefteriou, Ph.D.

 Associate Professor

Clinical Pharmacology/Medicine

1235 MRB IV

Tel: 615-322-7975

Fax: 615-343-2611

Florent.elefteriou@vanderbilt.edu

Regulation of bone remodeling by the central and peripheral nervous systems.

Pri

Ronald B. Emeson, Ph.D.

Joel G. Hardman Chair in Pharmacology

Professor of Pharmacology and Molecular Physiology & Biophysics

8160B MRB III

Tel: 615-936-1688

ron.emeson@vanderbilt.edu

Cell-specific regulation of neuroendocrine gene expression; RNA processing

Sec

Stephen W. Fesik, Ph.D.

Professor of Biochemistry & Pharmacology

Ingram Professor in Cancer Drug Discovery

634 RRB / 802 RRB

Tel: 615-322-6306

stephen.fesik@vanderbilt.edu

Cancer drug discovery using fragment-based approaches and structure-based drug design

Sec

Joshua P. Fessel, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

Tel.: 615-936-2187

joshua.p.fessel@vanderbilt.edu

My lab has two broad areas of focus, one that is disease-specific and one that is more fundamental biology.  My disease interest focuses on disorders affecting the vasculature in the lung - specifically, pulmonary arterial hypertension.  My lab also studies more fundamental biology related to molecular metabolism, carbon source utilization, mitochondrial physiology, and mechanisms of molecular metabolic control.

Sec

Martin J. Gallagher, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Neurology

6140 MRB3

Tel.: 615-322-5979

martin.j.gallagher@vanderbilt.edu

The effects of monogenic epilepsy mutations on protein expression and electrophysiology in both cultured cells as well as genetically modified mice. In addition, we study the effects of these mutations on the development of seizures and neurobehavioral abnormalities in genetically modified mice

Sec

Aurelio Galli, Ph.D.

Professor of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics and Pharmacology

7124 MRBIII

Tel: 615-936-3891

aurelio.galli@vanderbilt.edu

Trafficking and biophysics of Neurotransmitter Transporters

Sec

Patrick Grohar, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics and Cancer Biology

546 PRB

Tel.:

patrick.grohar@vanderbilt.edu

Small molecule drug targeting of oncogenic transcription factors 

Sec

Brad Grueter, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Division of Research

Department of Anesthesiology

P435G MRB4

Tel.: 615-936-1684

brad.grueter@vanderbilt.edu

Elucidating the molecular constituents in the NAc that are necessary and sufficient to drive complex motivated behaviors

Sec

Richard J. Gumina, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

383 PRB

Tel.: 615-936-1720

richard.gumina@vanderbilt.edu

Regulation of extracellular nucleotide/nucleosides in cardiovascular health and disease

Pri

Vsevolod Gurevich, Ph.D.

Professor of Pharmacology

418 PRB

Tel.: 615-322-7070

vsevolod.gurevich@vanderbilt.edu

Molecular mechanism of arrestin function

Pri

Heidi E. Hamm, Ph.D.

Earl W. Sutherland, Jr. Professor of Pharmacology

442 RRB

Tel: 615-343-3533

heidi.hamm@vanderbilt.edu

G-proteins and intracellular signaling

Sec

David Harrison, M.D.

Chief, Division of Clinical Pharmacology

Betty and Jack Bailey Professor of Medicine

536 RRB

Tel: 615-875-3049

David.g.harrison@vanderbilt.edu

Inflammation; Endothelial cell metabolism of tetrahydrobiopterin.

Sec

Eva Marie Harth, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Pharmacology

7619 Stevenson Center

Tel: 615-343-3405

Eva.harth@vanderbilt.edu

Development of bioinspired nanoscopic polymeric materials establishing and implementing new achievements in targeted drug delivery and imaging

Sec

Antonis K. Hatzopoulos, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Medicine, Cell & Developmental Biology and Pharmacology

P425C MRB4

Tel: 615-936-5529

Antonis.hatzopoulos@vanderbilt.edu

Molecular and cellular mechanisms of cardiac development and regeneration, with emphasis on the role of endothelial progenitor cells to promote regeneration of injured organs, or to eradicate unwanted tissue growth

Sec

Charles C. Hong, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology and Cell & Developmental Biology

1155A Light Hall

2215 Garland Ave.

Tel.: 615-936-7032

charles.c.hong@vanderbilt.edu

Chemical biology of embryonic development and stem cell differentiation

Sec

Billy G. Hudson, Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine

Professor of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology

Elliott V. Newman Professor of Medicine

Professor of Biochemistry

B-3102 Medical Center North

Tel.: 615-322-7298

billy.hudson@vanderbilt.edu

The structure and function of type IV collagen, the major constituent of basement membranes (BMs)

Pri

Tina Iverson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Pharmacology

460 RRB

Tel: 615-322-7817

tina.iverson@vanderbilt.edu

X-ray crystallography of integral membrane protein complexes

Pri

Carrie K. Jones, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

12478B MRB IV

Tel: 615-343-4337

Fax: 615-343-3088

carrie.jones@vanderbilt.edu

 

Exploring the underlying mechanisms of novel ligands targeting different G protein-coupled receptors (GPCR) and transporters within the CNS and the implications of these effects on different disease states, most notably schizophrenia

Sec

Bjorn C. Knollman, MD/Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology

1265 MRB IV

Tel.: 615-343-6493

bjorn.knollman@vanderbilt.edu

Cardiac electrophysiology, calcium signaling, excitation-contraction coupling, ion channels, drug-induced arrhythmias 

Pri

Christine Konradi, Ph.D.

Professor of Pharmacology and Psychiatry

7158 MRB III

Tel.: 615-936-1021

christine.konradi@vanderbilt.edu

Gene Expression in the Brain

Sec

Andre H. Lagrange, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Neurology

6140 MRB III

Tel: 615-322-5979

Andre.h.lagrange@vanderbilt.edu

Using electrophysiological techniques with brain slices and immortalized cultured cells to study the tuning of inhibitory neurotransmission during normal brain function and in disease states, including epilepsy

Pri

Craig W. Lindsley, Ph.D.

Professor of Pharmacology

804A RRB

Tel: 615-322-8700

Craig.lindsley@vanderbilt.edu

Medicinal chemistry efforts to validate novel targets/mechanisms

Sec

MacRae Linton, M.D.

Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology

315 PRB

Tel.: 615-936-1656

macrae.linton@vanderbilt.edu

Lipoprotein metabolism and atherosclerosis

Sec

BethAnn McLaughlin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Neurology and Pharmacology

8110A MRB III

Tel: 615-936-3847

bethann.mclaughlin@vanderbilt.edu

Neurodegenerative and neuroprotective cell signaling pathways

Sec

Jens Meiler, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Pharmacology

5144B MRB III

Tel.: 615-936-5662

jens@jens-meiler.de

Computational Structural Biochemistry

Sec

Katherine T. Murray, M.D.

Assoc. Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology

559 PRB

Tel: 615-322-3304

kathy.murray@vanderbilt.edu

Metabolic regulation of Na+ channel activity in cardiac cells; mechanisms of antiarrhythmic drug action

Sec

Gregor Neuert, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics

813C Light Hall

Tel.: 615-343-6404

gregor.neuert@vanderbilt.edu

To study and predict dynamic spatial-temporal processes in signal transduction and gene regulation by quantifying individual cells with single-molecule resolution

Sec

John S. Penn, Ph.D.

Professor of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, Cell & Developmental Biology, and Pharmacology

8016 MCE

Tel: 615-936-1485

John.penn@vanderbilt.edu

A Molecular and Cellular Characterization of Ocular Angiogenesis

Sec

Elizabeth Phillips, M.D.

Professor of Medicine

John A. Oates Chair in Clinical Research

 

Tel:

Elizabeth.j.phillips@vanderbilt.edu

 

Pri

L. Jackson Roberts, II, M.D.

Professor of Pharmacology and Medicine

522A RRB

Tel: 615-322-3203

jack.roberts@vanderbilt.edu

Prostaglandins; oxidative injury

Sec

David H. Robertson, M.D.  

Elton Yates Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology and Neurology

AA3228 MCN

Tel: 615-343-6499

david.robertson@vanderbilt.edu

Pharmacology and molecular genetics of the adrenergic nervous system; aerospace medicine and physiology

Sec

Dan M. Roden, MD

Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology

Director, Division of Clinical Pharmacology

532C RRB

Tel.: 615-322-0067

Fax: 615-343-4522

Pager:  615-835-7513

dan.roden@vanderbilt.edu

Pharmacology of antiarrhythmic drugs

Sec

Douglas B. Sawyer, M.D./Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology

383 PRB

Tel.: 615-936-1717

Fax: 615-936-2029

Douglas.b.sawyer@vanderbilt.edu

Role of the cardiac growth factor neuregulin in cardioprotection, repair and regeneration

Pri

Claus Schneider, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

572 RRB

Tel.: 615-343-9539

Fax: 615-322-4707

Claus.schneider@vanderbilt.edu

Biochemistry of lipid signaling

Sec

Jonathan G. Schoenecker, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Orthopsedic Surgery and Rehabilitation

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

Assistant Professor of Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

454 RRB

Tel.: 615-9363080

jon.schoenecker@vanderbilt.edu

The role of Coagulation in Normal and Pathologic Orthopaedic Related Wounds

Pri

Bih-Hwa Shieh, Ph.D.

Assoc. Professor of Pharmacology

402B RRB

Tel: 615-343-0441

bih-hwa.shieh@vanderbilt.edu

Visual transduction in Drosophila; Drosophila genetics

Pri

Benjamin Spiller, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

5154B MRB III

Tel: 615-322-6766

Benjamin.spiller@vanderbilt.edu

Structural Biology of Ion Channels

Sec.

John M. Stafford, M.D./Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Medicine and Molecular Physiology & Biophysics

7445 MRB4

Tel: 615-936-6113

Fax: 615-936-1667

John.stafford@vanderbilt.edu

 

Diabetes, Obesity and Lipid Metabolism and Atherosclerosis

Pri

Gregg D. Stanwood, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Research on Human Development

Assoc. Director, Vanderbilt Murine Neurobehavioral Core

8180A MRB III

Tel: 615-936-3861

Gregg.stanwood@vanderbilt.edu

Examining the developmental influences of biogenic amine signaling on the formation and function of neural circuits mediating cognitive and emotional responses

Sec

LaMonica V. Stewart, Ph.D.

(Meharry Medical College)

Assistant Professor of Cancer Biology

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences

West Basic Science Bldg., Rooms 2118/2120

1005 Dr. D.B. Todd, Jr. Blvd.

Nashville, TN

Tel: 615-327-6749

lstewart@mmc.edu

Regulation of prostate cancer growth and progression by the peroxisome proliferator activated receptor gamma (PPAR gamma) and other nuclear receptors

Sec

Jeremy Veenstra-VanderWeele, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Pediatrics & Pharmacology

465 MRB3

Tel: 615-936-1701

j.vvw@vanderbilt.edu

This lab is focused on mouse models related to autism spectrum disorders.

Pri

Brian E. Wadzinski, Ph.D.

Assoc. Professor of Pharmacology

424 RRB

Tel: 615-343-2080

brian.wadzinski@vanderbilt.edu

Novel protein phosphatases and control of gene transcription

Sec

Jialiang Wang, Ph.D.

Asst Professor of neurological Surgery

T4224 MCN

Tel: 615-936-6421

jialiang.wang@vanderbilt.edu

Translational medicine in brain tumors and other human cancers, in particularly malignant glioma

Sec

Matthew H. Wilson, M.D., Ph.D.

Assoc. Professor of Medicine

Division of Nephrology and Hypertension

Tel: 615-873-6842

matthew.wilson@vanderbilt.edu

Engineering cell and gene therapies for kidney diseases

Sec

XiangLi Yang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Clinical Pharmacology/Medicine

1235 MRB IV

Tel: 615-322-8052

Fax: 615-343-2611

Xiangli.yang@vanderbilt.edu

Regulatory mechanisms governing the process of cell fate determination, with a focus on the identification of novel transcription factors that control osteoblast differentiation and adaptation in response to bone diseases.

Pri

Qi Zhang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

410 RRB

Tel: 615-875-7620

Qi.zhang@vanderbilt.edu

 

Inventing interdisciplinary methods to study molecular mechanisms governing cellular communication

Sec

Laurence J. Zwiebel, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences

6260 MRB3

Tel: 615-343-3718

Fax: 615-936-0129

l.zwiebel@vanderbilt.edu

Characterization of several genes and their products that together control important behavioral processes in the life cycle of insects that act as disease vectors