Department of Pharmacology

T-32 Training Grant

Training in Pharmacological Sciences, T32 GM07628

Joey V. Barnett, Ph.D., Principal Investigator


Joey V. Barnett, Ph.D.
Acting Chair, Pharmacology
Professor of Pharmacology, Medicine, Pediatrics,
     and Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Department of Pharmacology
Preston Research Building Room 460
2220 Pierce Avenue
Nashville, TN 37232-6600
ph. 615 936 1722

The NIH-funded training program is currently in the 37th year of funding. This training grant provides invaluable support to the Ph.D. training program. Over 70 mentors in 13 basic science and clinical departments at Vanderbilt University provide research opportunities for our trainees. In addition, our partnership with the Lipscomb College of Pharmacy provides for Pharm.D., Ph.D. training and access to specialized coursework and training in drug metabolism and pharmaceutics. Former trainees hold positions in academia, industry, and government agencies. Our goal is to train leaders in science. Graduate students interested in joining the training program should contact Dr. Barnett directly.


Trainees Currently Supported by the T-32 Training Grant

    • Andrea Belovich, Aurelio Galli’s lab
    • Rachel Crouch, Scott Daniels’ lab
    • Claire DelBove, Qi Zhang’s lab
    • Andrea Flores, Ifeanyi Arinze's lab
    • Richard Jacobson, Jon Schoenecker's lab
    • Justin Paulson, Gregor Neuert's lab
    • Meagan Quinlan, Randy Blakely's lab
    • Judity Rosena, Martin Gallagher's lab
    • Megan Shuey, Nancy Brown's lab
    • Cody Wenthur, Craig Lindsley’s lab
    • Yun Young (Susan) Yim, Heidi Hamm’s lab

Current Trainees Previously Supported by the T-32 Training Grant

    • Lyndsey Anderson, Al George's lab
    • Ron Bruntz, Alex Brown's lab
    • Elizabeth Ennis, Randy Blakely's lab
    • TK Feaster, Charles Hong's lab
    • Bryan Fioret, Antonis Hatzopoulos' lab
    • Craig Goodwin, Stephen Fesik's lab
    • Odaine Gordon, Claus Schneider's lab
    • Karen Ho, David Calkins' lab
    • Matthew Karolak, Florent Elefteriou's lab
    • Michele LeNoue-Newton, Ben Spiller's lab
    • Monica Logan, Sarki Abdulkadir's lab
    • Michael Nedelcovych, Carrie Jones' lab
    • Thuy Nguyen, Jack Roberts' and Miki Aschner's labs
    • Sara Savage, John Penn's lab
    • Cierra Spencer, Alex Brown's lab
    • David Stevens, Eva Harth's lab
    • Treniqka Walters, Ifeanyi Arinze's lab
    • Summer Young, Heidi Hamm's lab
    • Zack Zurawski, Heidi Hamm's lab

Past Trainees Supported by the T-32 Training Grant

    • Kari Johnson, Ph.D. (2013) - Postdoctoral Fellow, Vanderbilt University (Jeff Conn's lab


    • Kris Burkewitz, Ph.D. (2012) – Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard Medical School (Will Mair's lab)
    • J. Preston Campbell, Ph.D. (2012) – Postdoctoral Fellow, Vanderbilt University
    • Whitney Cleghorn, Ph.D. (2012) – Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Washington, Seattle, WA (Jim Hurley's lab)
    • Sydney Stoops, Ph.D. (2012) – Postdoctoral Fellow, The Scripps Research Institute, Jupiter, FL (Thomas Kodadek's lab)
    • Christie Swan-Bartlett, Ph.D. (2012) – Postdoctoral Fellow, Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, IL
    • Mengnan Tian, Ph.D. (2012) – Postdoctoral Fellow, Johns Hopkins University (Richard Huganir's lab)
    • Guy Watkins, Ph.D. (2012) – Postdoctoral Fellow, Northwestern University, Chicago, IL


    • Klarissa Hardy, Ph.D. (2011) - Assistant Professor, Lipscomb University, College of Pharmacy, Nashville, TN
    • Nathan Mundell, Ph.D. (2011) – Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Genetics, Harvard Medical School (Connie Cepko’s lab)
    • Nora Sanchez, Ph.D. (2011) – TRIUMPH Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Genomic Medicine, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
    • Paige Selvy, Ph.D. (2011) – Postdoctoral Fellow, Center for Biodefense and Emerging Infectious Diseases, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX (Jere W. McBride's lab)


    • Molly Fricke Brown, Ph.D. (2010) – Postdoctoral Fellow, Pharmacology Education & Outreach Group, Ohio State University (Kwiek lab)
    • Brett English, Pharm.D., Ph.D. (2010) – Senior Director of Scientific Affairs, Early Phase Studies (CNS Therapeutics), PAREXEL International, Glendale, CA
    • Julie Field Kropski, Ph.D. (2010) – Project Manager, VICTR and CTSA Consortium Coordinating Center, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN
    • Rich Gustin, Ph.D. (2010) - Medical Science Liaison, Novartis/The Medical Affairs Company, Delray Beach, FL
    • Kelie Reece, Ph.D. (2010) - Postdoctoral Fellow, Molecular Pharmacology Section, Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute, NIH, Bethesda, MD (William Douglas Figg's lab)
    • Jana Shirey-Rice, Ph.D. (2010) - Project Manager, VICTR, Vanderbilt University
    • Nicole Speed Lute, Ph.D. (2010) – Strategic Consultant, ETHOS Health Communications, Newtown, PA


    • Jennifer Ayala, Ph.D. (2009) - Postdoctoral Fellow, Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute, Orlando, FL
    • Scott Gruver, Ph.D. (2009) - Research Fellow in Systems Biology, Harvard Medical School (Marc Kirschner's lab)
    • Aaron Przybysz, M.D. (2012, Michigan State), Ph.D. (2009) – Anesthesiology Resident, University of Michigan


    • Lauren Manderfield, Ph.D. (2008) - Postdoctoral Fellow, Molecular Cardiology Research Center, University of Pennsylvania (Jon Epstein's lab)
    • Elizabeth Rula, Ph.D. (2008) - Principal Investigator of Health Outcomes Research, Healthways, Nashville, TN
    • William Thiel, Ph.D. (2008) - Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Iowa (Mark Anderson's lab)
    • Todd Townsend, Ph.D. (2008) - Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Utah (Joseph Yost's lab)


    • Michael Benneyworth, Ph.D. (2007) - Postdoctoral Associate, Department of Neuroscience, Univeristy of Minnesota (Mark Thomas' lab)
    • Efrain Garcia, Ph.D. (2007) - Interdisciplinary Scientist - Project Officer CBRN, US Department of Health & Human Services, Washington, DC
    • Sarah Nordstrom, Ph.D. (2007) - Postdoctoral Scholar, University of California San Francisco (CVRI/Weiss lab)
    • Philip Palmer, Ph.D. (2007, Meharry Medical College) - Licensing Officer in Technology Transfer, University of Maryland
    • Bryan Voss, Ph.D. (2007) - Research Scientist, Cumberland Pharmaceuticals


    • LaNissa Brown, Ph.D. (2006, Meharry Medical College) - Postdoctral Associate, NINDS Intramural Program
    • Elizabeth Hackler, Ph.D. (2006) - US Publications Manager, UCB Pharma, Atlanta, GA
    • Lee Henage, Ph.D. (2006) - High School Teacher, Union County Public Schools, NC
    • Scott Myers, Ph.D. (2006) - Spinal Cord Injury Research, University of Louisville, KY


    • Susan Hanson, Ph.D. (2005) - Lecturer, Carroll University, Waukesha, WI
    • Arlene Kray, Ph.D. (2005) - Senior Medical Writer, i3 Statprobe, Pittsburgh, PA
    • Michelle Mazei-Robison, Ph.D. (2005) - Assistant Professor, Dept. of Physiology, Neuroscience Program, Michican State University
    • Regina Rights, Ph.D. (2005) - Health Industries Advisory Practice, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Greensboro, NC
    • Jennifer Ronesi-Benavides, Ph.D. (2005) – Line Editor, Ameditor, Baltimore, MD


    • Michael Burleigh, Ph.D. (2004) - Clinical Research Associate Nurse Practitioner, Central Texas VA Health Care System, Temple, TX
    • Lisa Hazelwood, Ph.D. (2004) - Senior Scientist II, Abbott Laboratories, Abbott Park, IL
    • Tammy Wingo, Ph.D. (2004) - Senior Business Architect, North Highland Consulting, Brentwood, TN