Skip to main content

Letter from Ann Price, MD

Posted by on Thursday, February 28, 2019 in Letter from Ann Price, Vanderbilt Community, Winter 2019 .

Dear Vanderbilt University Medical Alumni,


Vanderbilt Medical Alumni Reunion 2018

Many thanks to all of you who attended our Vanderbilt University School of Medicine (VUSM) Reunion 2018 in October. With over 1,000 attendees, this was one of our largest VUSM Reunion events ever. I hope you enjoyed your time back on Vanderbilt’s campus. A special thanks to all of our class chairs and class gift chairs for making this Reunion a truly wonderful event. This year’s VUSM Reunion also featured meetings for the Vanderbilt Christie Pediatric Society, the Lonnie S. Burnett Society (OB-GYN), the Thomas E. Brittingham Society (Medicine), the Master of Public Health program, and the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine Office for Diversity Affairs. Please refer to the online edition of Vanderbilt Medicine magazine — — for photographs from Reunion festivities. (Due to our biennial VUSM reunion celebration schedule, our next VUSM Reunion will be celebrated in fall 2020.)


VMAA Board Meeting in conjunction with Reunion 2018

The Vanderbilt Medical Alumni Association (VMAA) Board welcomes our new VMAA president, W. Bedford Waters, MD’74, BA’70, who began his two-year term during the Reunion 2018 festivities. Maj. Gen. Stephen L. Jones, MD’78 (Ret.), BA’74, was installed as the new president-elect. Thank you to outgoing VMAA president, Thomas W. Nygaard, MD’78, BS’74. Additional new board members include regional directors, Brenessa Lindeman, MD’09; Airron L. Richardson, MD’04; MBA’05; Samer S. Hasan, MD’94, PhD’94; Gary B. Strong, MD’78; Rear Adm. Paul D. Pearigen, MD’87; and Robert L. Rosenfeld, MD’94, MA’73, HS’99. In addition, we also welcomed the following specialty society representatives: Michael J. Fowler, MD, FE’01 (Vanderbilt Endocrine Society); Jerry J. Jaboin, MD, HS’10 (Vanderbilt Röntgen Society/Radiation Oncology); Stephanie C. Kurita, MD, (Vanderbilt Radiology Society); Roman E. Perri, MD, HS’01 (Thomas E. Brittingham Society); Mark E. Rawls, MD, HS’10, BE’02, (Amos Christie Society); Kyla P. Terhune, MD, EMBA’16, HS’11 (H. William Scott Society); Timothy P. Schoettle, MD’78, HS’85, BA’74  (Vanderbilt Meacham Neurosurgical Society). We also welcomed Vernon A. Rayford, MD’09, PharmD (Young Alumnus Representative).


VMAA Events and Dinners

VMAA hosted several gatherings held in conjunction with annual meetings of national organizations including the American College of Surgeons in Boston, Massachusetts,  Oct. 22, 2018; the Association of American Medical Colleges annual meeting in Austin, Texas, Nov. 4, 2018; and the Radiological Society of North America Annual Meeting in Chicago, Nov. 26, 2018. In addition, the VMAA hosted a regional dinner in Columbia, South Carolina, Nov. 14, 2018. Jim Chow, MD, FE ‘88, HS ‘90, served as our host. Two dinners were held in San Francisco and Palo Alto, California, in January.


Vanderbilt Database Updates

Please assist our efforts to keep the Vanderbilt database current. If you have changed home or business addresses, or if your preferred email has changed recently, or if you have news to share, please send contact information updates directly to:


Best Wishes.