PDB Journal Club: Chuck Herring (Post-doc, Lau Lab) will present the paper "Joint profiling of chromatin accessibility and gene expression in thousands of single cells" Cao et al Science. 2018 Sep 28 Vol. 361, Issue 6409, pp. 1380-1385. 

Although we can increasingly measure transcription, chromatin, methylation, etc., at single cell resolution, most assays only survey one or two at a time.  This paper reports a new method, "sci-CAR” – a combinatorial indexing-based co-assay that jointly profiles chromatin accessibility and mRNA in each of thousands of single cells.  As proof-of-concept, sci-CAR was applied to 4,825 cells representing a time-series of dexamethasone treatment, and to 11,296 cells from adult mouse kidney.   The pseudotemporal dynamics of chromatin accessibility and gene expression were compared, chromatin accessibility profiles reconstructed for cell types defined by RNA profiles, and cis-regulatory sites linked to target genes using the covariance of chromatin accessibility and transcription.  The general relevance of such high-resolution studies will be discussed.

Dissertation Defenses:
Aidan Fenix (Burnette Lab), Tuesday, October 9, 2018, 2:00 pm, 3131 MRB III, "Constructing Contractile Ensembles: How Cells Build Units of Force Generation" Flyer
Ankita Burman (Blackwell Lab), Monday, November 19th, 11:00 a.m. in 3131 MRB III
Gokhan Unlu (Knapik Lab), February 13th at 1:00 p.m. in 3131 MRB III

Chloe Snider (Ph.D. Candidate Gould Lab) was named VICC graduate student of the year.
CDB Takes the #3 Spot in Cell Biology Funding for 2017. Vanderbilt Department of Cell & Developmental Biology ranked third out of 76 among US medical schools in "Anatomy/Cell Biology" NIH funding, according to the Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research. 

Journal Covers

  • Ken Lau, "Unsupervised Trajectory Analysis of Single-Cell RNA-Seq and Imaging Data Reveals Alternative Tuft Cell Origins in the Gut," Cell Systems, January 24, 2018  Cover Art
  • Marija Zanic, "Human CLASP2 specifically regulates microtubule catastrophe and rescue," Molecular Biology of the Cell, May 15, 2018  Cover Art

New Grants Fund Discovery in CDB

  • Ken Lau and Jeremy Goettel received a VI4/VICC jointly-funded research program for: "Microbiome-tuft cell axis in regulating a Treg response in the gut"
  • Anne R. Meyer, Graduate Student, Goldenring Lab, Kirschstein-NRSA predoctoral fellowship (F31) award
  • Vivian Gama R35 MIRA Award
  • Andrea Page McCaw, PI and Shane Hutson, MPI.  RO1 title, "Cellular Integration of Information in the Detection and Response to Epithelial Damage"
  • Todd Bartkowiak, postdoctoral fellow working in the labs of Rebecca Ihrie and Jonathan Irish received the NIH K00 Predoctoral to Postdoctoral Transition Award
  • Vivian Gama, Single Cell TIPs Grant, Vanderbilt University, "Assessing the contribution of mitochondrial heterogeneity to gliomagenesis using single cell approaches"
  • Alissa Guarnaccia (PhD Candidate Tansey Lab) F31 NRSA (F31 NRSA from the National Cancer Institute, F31 CA225065, “Investigating MYC and WDR5 chromatin interactions in cancer"
  • Shwetha Narasimhan (PhD Candidate Kaverina Lab) AHA Fellowship
  • Dylan Ritter (PhD Candidate Knapik Lab) CBMS Training Grant
  • Nilay Taneja (PhD Burnette Lab) AHA PreDoc Fellowship

Learn more about the Nikon Center of Excellence The NCoE offers training courses, including basic and advanced light microscopy techniques, quantitative image analysis, and workshops on Nikon software: Please Click Here to register.