Skip to main content


12:00 – 1:00 PM in Light Hall


August 11, 1220 MRB IIIEmily Hodges, Vanderbilt University, “Decoding the epigenome to reveal drivers of gene regulation in human development, disease, and evolution” (Followed by meet-and-greet luncheon in 618 LH).

September 1, 512 Light Hall, Linlin Zhao, University of California, Riverside, “Old Dog New Tricks – Mitochondrial Transcription Factor A in Mitochondrial Genome Maintenance

September 29, 202 Light Hall, School of Medicine Basic Sciences Apex LectureMichael Rapé, UC Berkeley, HHMI, “Stress Signaling at the Crossroads of Development and DiseaseDr. Rapé’s research and his upcoming visit are highlighted in an article by the School of Medicine Basic Sciences. Click here to learn more.

October 6, 202 Light Hall, The Richard Armstrong Mentoring Award Lecture: David Cortez, Vanderbilt University, “Genome maintenance mechanisms: a personal story of discovery, mentoring, and teamwork”

October 17 – 1220 MRB III, 2:00 pm, Apex Lecture: Katrin Karbstein, University of Florida, “Quality Control During and After Ribosome Assembly

October 20, 202 Light Hall, Emerging Scholars Lecture: Iris Smith, Cleveland Clinic, “Unraveling PTEN Structural and Functional Dynamic Architecture for Therapeutic Modulation in Cancer and Autism

November 3, 202 Light Hall, James Dewar, Vanderbilt University, “How to completely copy a genome”

December 1, 202 Light Hall, Xiaochun Li, UT Southwestern, “Molecular basis of Wnt biogenesis, secretion and Wnt7 specific signaling”

December 15, 202 Light Hall, The Richard Armstrong Lecture: Michelle Wang, Cornell University, “DNA Topology and Mechanics of Fundamental Processes


CANCELED (rescheduled for April 19, 2024) January 19, 214 Light Hall, K. Jebrell Glover, Lehigh University, “Membrane protein hairpins: Insights into the structure and topology of caveolin and oleosin

February 2, 214 Light Hall, Yi Ren, Vanderbilt University, “Mechanisms and viral inhibition of mRNA nuclear export”

February 13, 1220 MRB III, 2:00 PM, Apex Lecture: Jeanne Stachowiak, University of Texas at Austin, “Intrinsic disorder as an organizing principle for membrane biology and biomaterials

February 16, 214 Light Hall, Denise Okafor, Pennsylvania State University, “Allosteric mechanisms of transcriptional control in FXR

March 1, 206 PRB, Arthur Laganowsky, Texas A&M University, “Native mass spectrometry of membrane protein-lipid complexes

March 18, 202 Light Hall, 2:00 PM, Special Faculty Candidate Seminar: Rahul Bhowmick, Vanderbilt University, “Replication stress management: paths to safeguard genome stability”

April 5, 214 Light Hall, Alan Tomkinson, University of New Mexico, “DNA ligase complexes in replication and repair”

April 10, 1220 MRBiii, 2:00 PM, Apex Lecture: Karen Adelman, Harvard University, “Transcriptional control of stress and immune responses.” To learn more about Dr. Adelman’s upcoming lecture, please click here

April 19, 214 Light Hall, K. Jebrell Glover, Lehigh University, “Membrane protein hairpins: Insights into the structure and topology of caveolin and oleosin

POSTPONED (rescheduled for October 11, 2024) May 3, 214 Light Hall, Hnilica Lecture: Anjana Rao, La Jolla Institute for Immunology, “The TET-DNMT-ASXL1-OGT axis: regulation of DNA and histone methylation, clonal haematopoiesis and cancer”

May 17, 214 Light Hall, Scott Williams, NIH, “From the TOP: Formation, Recognition and Resolution of Topoisomerase 2 DNA Protein Crosslinks”

Dissertation Defense

May 14, 3:00 PM, 208 Light Hall, Jessica L. Taylor (Brown lab)The Molecular Basis Underlying Heme Biosynthesis Dysfunction and Disease Originating from C-Terminal Mutations in Aminolevulinic Acid Synthase

4:00 – 5:00 PM, 208 Light Hall

The next scheduled Biochemistry Flexner Discovery Lecture is TBD. Please check back here for updates.

In recent years, the Department of Biochemistry has hosted such illustrious speakers as: Jennifer Doudna, Peter Agre, Karl Deisseroth, Joan Steitz, NIDA Director Nora Volkow, Nancy Andrews, and several Nobel Prize winners (Sydney Brenner, Tom Cech, Andrew Fire, Bengt Samuelsson, Kurt Wuthrich, Sir Paul Nurse, and in 2017 Eric Kandel). View a full listing of all Vanderbilt Flexner Discovery Lectures, past and present. Lectures are recorded and may be viewed online.