Skip to main content

Sutherland College

Sutherland Advising College Faculty Leaders


Dan M Roden, M.D.

Senior Vice President, Personalized Medicine
Professor, Medicine
Professor, Biomedical Informatics
William Stokes Chair, Experimental Therapeutics
Professor, Pharmacology


    John Michael Stafford, M.D., Ph.D.

    Associate Professor, Medicine
    Associate Professor, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics


      Lorraine Ware, M.D.

      Professor, Medicine
      Professor, Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
      Director, Medical Scholars Program

        Sutherland Associate College Advisors


        Hugh Cahill, M.D., Ph.D.

        Resident, Neurology


          Kristen Noble, M.D., Ph.D.

          Fellow, Neonatology, Pediatrics

          Learn more about Dr. Noble here and here.


            Jeffrey Schmeckpeper, M.D., Ph.D.

            Clinical Fellow, Cardiology, Medicine

            Learn more about Dr. Schmeckpeper here and here.

              Sutherland Members


              Ravi Atreya, Ph.D.

              Mia Levy Lab, M3

              Margaret Axelrod

              Justin Balko Lab, G3

              Samantha Beik

              Carlos Lopez Lab, G2

              Leon Cai

              Bennett Landman Lab, G1

              Juan Manuel Colazo

              Craig Duvall Lab, G1

              Stephanie Dudzinski

              Todd Giorgio/Jeff Rathmell Lab, G5

              Caleb Ford

              Jim Cassat Lab, G4

              Hernán González

              Dario Englot Lab, G4

              Merla Hubler, Ph.D.

              Alyssa Hasty Lab, M4

              Sumeeth V Jonathan

              William Grissom Lab, G5

              Lindsay K. Kozek

              Robert Carson Lab, G4

              Matt Madden

              Jeff Rathmell Lab, G3

              Margaret McBride

              Ed Sherwood Lab, G1

              Elizabeth Moore

              Angela Jefferson Lab, G2

              Christopher Peek

              Jim Cassat Lab, G3

              John Snow

              Kevin Ess Lab, G5

              Jack Walker

              Al Powers Lab, G4

              Christiaan Wijers

              Michael Noto Lab, G2

              Sutherland Advising College Namesake


              Earl Sutherland

              Dr. Earl Wilbur Sutherland Jr. was born in 1915 in Burlingame, Kansas. Sutherland received his bachelor's degree in chemistry in 1937 from Washburn University (Topeka, KS) and earned his medical degree in 1942 from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. After serving as a doctor in World War II, he returned to Washington University as a researcher in the pharmacology laboratory of Nobel laureate Carl Ferdinand Cori. In 1953, he became director of the department of pharmacology at Case Western Reserve University (then Western Reserve University) in Cleveland, OH where he discovered the role of cyclic AMP in mediating the action of certain hormones. In 1963, desiring to limit his duties to research, Sutherland moved to Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in Nashville, where he was a professor of physiology until 1973. At the time of his death in 1974, Sutherland was a distinguished professor of biochemistry at University of Miami Medical School.

              In 1956 Sutherland and Dr. T. W. Rall discovered cyclic AMP. Sutherland's further research demonstrated the ubiquitous nature and prime importance of this chemical and its associated compounds, notably adenyl cyclase, in all living things. As the result of Sutherland's work and that of those who followed his lead, it became known that hormones are not the sole regulatory substances in the chemistry of living organisms, as had previously been believed. In many cases, necessary cellular reactions are triggered by cyclic AMP, the almost universal "second messenger," responding to the hormonal signal. Sutherland's work on hormones opened up new paths of research into diabetes, cancer, and cholera.

              A professor of physiology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center from 1963 to 1973. He won a Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1971 "for his discoveries concerning the mechanisms of the action of hormones," especially epinephrine, via second messengers (such as cyclic adenosine monophosphate, cyclic AMP). In addition to the Nobel Prize, Sutherland won the Albert Lasker Award for basic medical research in 1970 and received the National Medal of Science in 1973. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1966.