Skip to main content

Congratulations to the 2023 Vanderbilt MSTP Graduating Class!

Posted by on Tuesday, May 30, 2023 in Honors and Awards .

Photo: Anne Rayner

Congratulations to our 2023 Vanderbilt MSTP Graduates! The table below lists their next steps.

Margaret AxelrodPathologyWashington University in St. Louis
Connor BeeboutInternal MedicineUniversity of California - San Diego
Rachel BrownInternal MedicineVanderbilt University Medical Center
Bridget CollinsChild NeurologyChildren's Hospital of Philadelphia
Courtney EdwardsPediatricsJohns Hopkins University
Brynna EiselePsychiatryDuke University Medical Center
Benjamin FowlerPediatricsBoston Combined Program
JooEun "Jay" KangAnesthesiaBrigham & Women's Hospital
Matt MaddenPathologyYale University
Evonne McArthurInternal MedicineUniversity of Washington
Kelsey McNewObstetrics/GynecologyDuke University Medical Center
Ayesha MuhammadAnesthesiaUniversity of Michigan
Christopher PeekPediatricsBaylor College of Medicine
Brad ReinfeldInternal MedicineUniversity of California - Los Angeles
Maxwell RoeskePsychiatryVanderbilt University Medical Center
Danny SackInternal MedicineUniversity of Pennsylvania
Christiaan "Chris" WijersPediatricsBoston Combined Program
Matthew WleklinskiPediatricsUniversity of Cincinnati

Many of our graduates were recognized with awards at class day!

Drs. Margaret Axelrod, Bradley Reinfeld, and Matthew Madden (’23) received The Dean’s Award for Research which is presented to the graduating medical students who best exemplify the attributes that lead to success in basic science or clinical research including creativity, dedication, productivity, and careful diligence.


Dr. Ayesha Muhammad (’23) was named this year’s Founder’s Medalist for the School of Medicine! Since 1877, Vanderbilt has awarded a gold medal to the student graduating with first honors from each of the university’s 10 schools and colleges. Read more about Ayesha and the rest of the 2023 Founder’s Medalists here.


Dr. Ayesha Muhammad (’23) received the School of Medicine Award of Distinction which is presented to the student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership abilities in service to the School of Medicine.


Dr. Courtney Edwards (’23) received the Richard B. Johnston, Jr. Award which is presented to a graduating student entering pediatrics who has demonstrated excellence in academic scholarship and an extraordinary commitment to clinical medicine exemplifying the highest professional standards of the physician scientist.


Dr. Brynna Eisele (’23) received the 2023 John G. Coniglio Award in Biochemistry, which recognizes a graduating medical student who has distinguished themself in biochemistry.


Dr. Evonne McArthur (’23) received the Albert Weinstein Prize in Medicine which recognizes graduating students who have demonstrated high academic achievement, superior clinical competence, and the qualities of dedication and professionalism that characterize a good physician.


Dr. Matthew Wleklinski (’23) received the Amos Christie Award which recognizes the student in the graduating class who has demonstrated the outstanding qualities of scholarship and humanity embodied in the ideal pediatrician.


Dr. Maxwell Roeske (’23) received the Beauchamp Scholarship which is endowed and awarded to the student showing the greatest progress in the field of psychiatry.


Dr. JooEun ‘Jay’ Kang (’23) received the Dean’s Award which is presented to the medical students distinguished by outstanding service to the School of Medicine and the community.


Dr. Bridget Collins (’23) received the Gerald Fenichel Award in Neurology which is presented to a graduating medical student entering neurology or child neurology who has demonstrated outstanding aptitude for clinical neurology and a devotion to patient care.


Dr. Margaret Axelrod (’23) received the John L. Shapiro Award for Excellence in Pathology which recognizes outstanding student performance in pathology.


Dr. Chris Peek (’23) received the Mildred T. Stahlman Award which is presented to the graduating student entering pediatrics whose performance exemplifies the highest standards of leadership, professionalism, and commitment to improving the lives of children.


Dr. Danny Sack (’23) received the the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award Presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation which is given to a graduating student who demonstrates compassion and empathy in the delivery of health care, and who engenders trust and confidence in both their patients and colleagues while adhering to professional ethical standards.

Dr. Danny Sack (’23) received The Excellence in Public Health Award which is distributed by the Physicians Professional Advisory Committee of the United States Public Health Service to recognize medical students who conduct public health work in their community and exemplify the USPHS and its mission to protect, promote, and advance the health and safety of our nation.


Dr. Kelsey McNew (’23) received the Oscar B. Crofford Award for Diabetes Research which is presented to the graduating medical student who has performed outstanding research in the area of diabetes.



Dr. Danny Sack (’23) and Dr. Chris Peek (’23) received the Award for Excellence in Infectious Diseases which is presented annually by the Divisions of Infectious Diseases in the Department of Medicine and Pediatrics to the student who has demonstrated outstanding aptitude and performance in clinical and investigative efforts in infectious diseases or microbiology.



Dr. Margaret Axelrod (’23) and Dr. Rachel Brown (’23) received the Glasgow-Rubin Certificate of commendation for academic achievement which is presented in recognition of women medical students who graduate as honor graduates.