Skip to main content

Dolores C. Shockley Lecture 2018

Ivor J. Benjamin, M.D., F.A.H.A., F.A.C.C.

American Heart Association President-Elect

*     *     *

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

​”Reflections of a Cardiovascular Physician Scientist”

Dr. Ivor Benjamin is the Director of the Cardiovascular Center, co-director of the NIH T32 Postdoctoral Fellowship in Cardiovascular Sciences, co-leader of the CVC’s Signature Program in Precision Cardiovascular Medicine, Professor of Medicine, Physiology, Pharmacology & Toxicology, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy, and Surgery at the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Dr. Benjamin earned his MD from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, internship and residency in Internal Medicine at Yale University School of Medicine, and received fellowship training in clinical cardiology, molecular cardiology, and molecular biology at Michael Reese Hospital (University of Chicago), Duke University Medical Center, and The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.  A certified specialist and consultant in internal medicine and cardiology, his clinical interests are general cardiology, inheritable heart failure, and myocardial infarction.  His research focuses on genes encoding heat shock proteins and oxido-reductive stress response pathways of direct relevance to genetic forms of heart disease, cardiotoxicological science and precision medicine.

An established investigator of the American Heart Association, Dr. Benjamin’s longstanding and distinguished career as a physician scientist has taken him across the country, including 10 years at the University of Utah School of Medicine where he was named the Division Chief of Cardiology and the Christi T. Smith Endowed Chair of Cardiovascular Medicine.  He is the recipient of countless honors including the Award of Merit from the American Heart Association, the Daniel Savage Memorial Service Award from the Association of Black Cardiologists, and the prestigious NIH Director’s Pioneer Award from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute.  He serves as Editor-in-Chief of Cecil Essential of Medicine 9th Edition and has authored over 130 books, book chapters and scientific papers.  Dr. Benjamin is a founding member of the Journal of the American Heart Association, and he currently serves on the editorial boards of Circulation and Circulation Research.

Dr. Benjamin has been a champion by providing leadership to broaden the global reach of biomedical research in efforts to reduce death and disability from cardiovascular diseases, stroke and other brain disorders.  He is a primary investigator for other major cardiovascular research projects including a four-million-dollar award funded by the Advancing a Healthier Wisconsin Endowment.  Recently, he completed his term as President of the Association of University Cardiologists and is now serving a yearlong tenure as the American Heart Association’s 82nd president.

Dolores C. Shockley, Ph.D.

Shockley 2.fw.pngDr. Shockley, Professor Emerita, Meharry Medical College, has the distinction of being the first African American woman in the nation to receive a Ph.D. in Pharmacology and the first to Chair a Department of Pharmacology at an accredited medical school.  Dr. Shockley’s research focused on the chemical compounds to treat stimulant dependency and overdose. As Chair of the Department of Pharmacology at Meharry in the late 1980s and into the 1990s, she worked closely with Dr. Lee Limbird to unite students at Meharry Medical College and Vanderbilt University. Together, they developed several joint programs, including monthly student seminars on both campuses.  These interactions continue today with a joint pharmacology scientific retreat each spring that inspires collaboration and continued reciprocal mentoring.  Recipients of the Dr. Dolores C. Shockley Lecture and Partnership Award are recognized for their involvement in partnerships that foster minority scientist career development.  The Department of Pharmacology at Vanderbilt University is proud to host this award.


Dolores C. Shockley Lecture History

2009  Peter R. MacLeish
2011  Gary H. Gibbons
2013  James E.K. Hildreth
2015  Freeman Hrabowski