Skip to main content

Mission Statement and Leadership

Chair’s Message

I am honored to welcome you to the Department of Pharmacology at Vanderbilt. We are one of the most distinguished pharmacology departments in the country and one that has incredible potential to advance basic science and contribute to urgently-needed drug development in the coming years.

Our research interests include seven major areas:

  • Bioactive Lipids
  • Cancer Biology
  • Drug Discovery
  • Molecular Basis of Neuropsychiatric Signaling
  • Neuronal Communication and Synaptic Signaling
  • Signal Transduction Mechanisms
  • Structural Biology

Molecules under investigation include G-protein coupled receptors (rhodopsin, adrenergic, serotonin and receptors), heterotrimeric G-proteins, ion channels, transporters and regulatory proteins such as arrestins, protein kinases and protein phosphatases. The department provides training focused on critical thinking to promote innovation, scholarship, and integrity. To this end, the department fosters creativity, collegiality, and leadership.

Ege T. Kavalali, Ph.D.



Ege T. Kavalali, Ph.D.

Professor & Chair, Department of Pharmacology
William Stokes Chair In Experimental Therapeutics

Assistant to the Chair

Cindi Kellam

Assistant to the Chair, Department of Pharmacology

Director of Graduate Studies

Christine L. Konradi, Ph.D.

Professor of Pharmacology
Professor of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Pharmacology

Associate Director of Graduate Studies

Sean Davies, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Pharmacology
Associate Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Pharmacology
Director of Enrichment and Outreach, Vanderbilt Diabetes Research Training Center

Graduate Education Program Manager

Bobbi Stidham

Graduate Education Program Manager, Department of Pharmacology