Skip to main content

Pharmacology Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Mission Statement and Committee

Mission Statement

The Department of Pharmacology at Vanderbilt University is committed to ensuring that all students, faculty, staff, visitors, and persons feel supported and welcomed. Though often not discussed, systems of inequality, oppression, and injustice exist within academia and shape, whether explicitly or implicitly, our language, decision-making, and priorities.

The department, with the support of its Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, is dedicated to supporting historically marginalized groups in addition to unlearning the systems that have contributed to this marginalization. These systems include (but are not limited to): racism and white supremacy, xenophobia, classism, sexism, ableism, and heterosexism. We also aim to create new infrastructure for which minority identities are uplifted and their voices are heard. These minority identities may include (but, again, are not limited to): racial and ethnic minority identities, sexual and gender minority identities, low-income socioeconomic backgrounds, and non-English language backgrounds.

With your help, we will improve the Department of Pharmacology’s diversity, inclusivity, and equity of all persons.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee

We are excited to announce:

  • There are now student members on the faculty search committee
  • We have two representatives who will serve on the Vanderbilt Basic Sciences DEI Committee
  • Student members are encouraged to prepare a STEM video to send to minority-serving high schools
  • We are continuing to invite a diverse population of postdoctoral fellows to give a seminar in the pharmacology/GPCR-postdoctoral seminar series
  • There is now a slack channel for the Pharm DEI committee
  • There is now a blog for the Pharm DEI committee: https://medschool.vanderbilt.edu/pharmacology/the-pharmers-market/
  • We have created this webpage to provide updates to the community

Committee Members

Jared Phillips

 

Chair and Pharmacology DEI liaison for the School of Medicine Parent DEI Committee

jared.phillips@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

Deborah Luessen

 

Secretary and Pharmacology DEI liaison for the School of Medicine Parent DEI Committee

deborah.j.luessen@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

Jose Zepeda

 

Activity organizer for monthly luncheon for URM students

jose.c.zepeda@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

Lillian Brady, Ph.D.

 

Co-Leader for Postdoc Seminar Program (financial aspects)

lillian.j.brady@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

Shalonda Ingram

 

Co-Organizer for monthly luncheon for URM students

shalonda.m.ingram@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

Celeste Greer, Ph.D.

 

Outreach coordinator for mentoring undergraduate students from HBCUs

celeste.greer@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

Suzanne Nolan

 

Co-Leader for Postdoc Seminar Program

suzanne.o.nolan-strle@vanderbilt.edu

 

Vivian Truong

 

Co-Leader for Stratford High School Diversity in STEM Career Development/Research Videos

vivian.truong@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

Ann Richmond, Ph.D.

 

Professor of Pharmacology

ann.richmond@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

Christine Konradi, Ph.D.

 

Professor of Pharmacology

christine.konradi@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

Colleen Niswender, Ph.D.

 

Associate Professor of Pharmacology

colleen.niswender@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

Erin Calipari, Ph.D.

 

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

Erin.calipari@vanderbilt.edu